Cover Lust

I’m in the middle of a move (fun times), so instead of a substantive post this week, let’s judge some covers. These are covers that have grabbed my interest and make me want to pick up the book before even knowing what’s inside.

12875258

Tell The Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt. I’ve heard good things from this one, and I love the typography, the cutout images, and the colors of this cover.

13056159

The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty. This one’s been on my list for awhile, mainly because I absolutely love Louise Brooks. Even if the novel’s not really about her (as I understand, she’s kind of a side character): put Louise Brooks on your cover, and I’ll probably, eventually, buy your book.

15781725

The House Girl by Tara Conklin, Again I really love the colors and the silhouette.

15790837

Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris. Kitschy title? Check. Quirky typeface? Check. OWLS? Check. (if you could see my currently-in-boxes apartment, I promise you’d understand.) David Sedaris once told me to go to hell, I absolutely love his essays, and I can’t wait to read this book.

15818440

The Accursed by Joyce Carol Oates. I have never ever read Joyce Carol Oates. It’s a stunning omission and I think she’s due for First Impressions treatment. I love the painting detail on this cover, and the colors, and the simple typeface.

15994634

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler. This cover is AMAZING. It might be my favorite cover of 2013, and we’re not even halfway through the year. The starkness of the cut-outs, the central focus on that brilliant letter, the subtle pops of color: this is cover design done right.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Talk

Leave a Reply

