Reading Challenge: Nebula Nominees

I don’t often pay attention to awards. It’s not that I dislike them or anything, but there are so many awards out there that it can be hard to keep up, and anyway there are always plenty of things to read. But this year I’ve decided to set myself a totally arbitrary and completely no-stakes challenge to read all of the Nebula nominees in the novel category (I may try to track down the short stories as well, but that’s down the road). Why am I doing this? Well, no reason in particular, but they all look pretty interesting.

The nominees are:

Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed
Ironskin by Tina Connolly
The Killing Moon by N.K. Jemisin
The Drowning Girl by Caitlín R. Kiernan
Glamour in Glass by Mary Robinette Kowal
2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson

Want to join me? There are no prizes (except your own personal pride!), but maybe I can come up with a banner in Photoshop or something. Very exciting, I’m sure.

I’ll be starting with The Killing Moon for the sole reason that it is available at the local branch of my library and I have to ILL everything else. I’m not going to set a reading schedule or anything, but if you want to start talking about these books and authors here, feel free! The Nebula Awards will be held the weekend of May 16th, so that’s the deadline. Happy reading!

3 Comments

Filed under Book Talk, Reading Challenge

3 responses to “Reading Challenge: Nebula Nominees

  1. if it counts for anything, 2312 and Throne of the Crescent Moon were really good (I’m sure they are *all* really good, but those are the only ones I’ve read!)

  2. Pingback: Reading Challenge: Nebula Nominees Update #1 | The Bastard Title

Leave a Reply

