Short Story Sunday: Karin Tidbeck’s “I Have Placed My Sickness Upon You”

First line: “Then came that Thursday in February when I stepped into my psychiatrist’s office and was presented with a goat.

Sometimes stories come to you at just the right time to punch you in the gut and make it hard to breathe. “I Have Placed My Sickness Upon You” is just such a story for me. I’ve never seen an account of depression that is so authentic, despite also being about a magic goat. Without getting into TMI territory, I’ll just say it was exactly the story I needed to read at the moment I read it, and I think a lot of people will be able to connect with it.

You can read “I have Placed My Sickness Upon You” at Strange Horizons.

1 Comment

Filed under Short Story Sunday

One response to “Short Story Sunday: Karin Tidbeck’s “I Have Placed My Sickness Upon You”

  1. Pingback: Strange Horizons - 2013 recap: “I Have Placed My Sickness Upon You”

Leave a Reply

