Top Ten Tuesday: Make a movie, please!

toptentuesdayIt’s been awhile since I’ve done a Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, but this week’s was a topic I couldn’t pass up. Top ten books I Would Love to see as a Movie/TV Show!

20650911. The Nightrunner Series by Lynn Flewelling.

This has been the very top of my dream movies list since I first read Luck in the Shadows at 16. I’ve dream-cast it. I’ve made soundtracks. I would do bad things to achieve a Nightrunner movie.

2. The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon.

There are certain scenes in The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay that are so intensely visual that I can already see them in my head. I’m not sure a film could actually do them justice. But it could try.

3. The Passage/The Twelve by Justin Cronin

The scope of this soon to be trilogy of the vampire apocalypse is immense, but the human stories at the heart of it are compelling, and could make for the rare film that’s both action packed and well acted.

4. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman 2213661

Cheating  a bit, because I believe this is actually already in either development or production, but The Graveyard Book is one of my favorite Gaiman novels, and I can’t wait to see it come to life on screen.

5. The Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs

If we can get True Blood, I see absolutely no reason why we can’t have a cable show about a shape-shifting coyote mechanic raised by werewolves. I mean, come on.

6. The Immortals series by Tamora Pierce

Every YA fantasy series published these days comes with an automatic screenplay, but I’d love to see some YA fantasy classics on the big screen, and since Tamora Pierce’s Wild Magic was my first fantasy series it’s close to my heart.

7. Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal

How great would it to be the glamours Kowal creates on the big screen? 

665598. Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Flynn’s Gone Girl and Dark Places are already both in production, one of which I’m ecstatic about, and one that makes me more hesitant, but I think her first novel would be a great film as well. The skin issue would cause plenty of challenges, but I think it would make for a stunning image.

9. Cleopatra by Stacey Schiff

Nonfiction can be surprisingly well adapted to the big screen (Team of Rivals into Lincoln, anyone?), and I think the time is ripe for a new silver screen version of the infamous queen based on better historical understanding than on Shakespeare and Liz Taylor (not that I don’t love Bill and Liz- I do!). Schiff’s biography is evocative and intensely detailed, and I think it would adapt well. While I was reading it, for whatever reason I kept picturing Cleopatra as looking somewhat like Oona Chaplain. Make of that what you will, big wig movie producers!

10. Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones

The story of two daughters of a bigamist father–one who knows she has a sister, the other who does not. It makes for dynamite drama, and I’d love to see it adapted to screen.

What are some of your dream adaptations?

4 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Make a movie, please!

  1. I’ve never read the Nightrunner series but I’ve heard amazing things about it. It’s sitting on my shelf…I think. Sigh. These Top Ten lists just make my TBR pile taller and taller and taller…

    • hlmorris85

      Believe me, I know all about the leaning tower of books that keeps getting taller 😀 I’m always enthusiastic about telling people how much I love Nightrunner, though! Flewelling’s publishing (what I believe is) the last book in the series this coming April, that might be a good time to give it a try.

  2. Ooooh, yes to the Immortals! And I’d love to see someone do something cool with the Graveyard Book…

    My list: http://adkwriter15.wordpress.com/2013/09/10/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-books-i-would-love-to-see-as-a-movie/

    • hlmorris85

      I think (if I’m not just delusionally making things up) it’s being worked on by the same team that did Coraline and ParaNorman, so it’s already a win in my book.

Leave a Reply

