Celebrating Short Stories

As I mentioned earlier, Alice Munro received the Nobel Prize for Literature this past Thursday. My favorite thing to come out of this award is the renewed attention being showed to short stories. It’s a form I practice every day. Some people dismiss short stories, which I don’t understand. What better to read in today’s frantic, busy world–you can read short stories on your phone, on your lunch break, on the bus, pretty much anywhere.

I’ve seen lots of bloggers talking about their favorite short story collections this week, and I wanted to share my own. For this blog I’ll be sticking to single author collections, though I love many multi-author compilations as well!

Sherwood Anderson- Winesburg, Ohio

Favorite story: “Paper Pills”

Dan Chaon- Among The Missing

Favorite story: “Prosthesis”

Dan Chaon- Stay Awake

Favorite Story: “To Psychic Underworld:,” “The Farm, The Gold, The Lily-White Hands”

Jhumpa Lahiri- Interpreter of Maladies

Favorite story: “Sexy”

Jhumpa Lahiri- Unaccustomed Earth

Favorite Story: “Nobody’s Business”

The Stories of Vladimir Nabokov

Favorite story: “Music”

Flannery O’Connor- A Good Man Is Hard to Find

Favorite story: “A Stroke of Good Fortune”

Ludmilla Petrushevskaya- There Once Lived a Girl Who Seduced Her Sister’s Husband, And He Hanged Himself

Favorite story: “Like Penelope,” “Hallelujah, Family!”

Karen Russell- St. Lucy’s Home For Girls Raised By Wolves

Favorite story: “Ava Wrestles the Alligator,” “Haunting Olivia”

What are your favorites? Tell me in the comments!

2 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

2 responses to “Celebrating Short Stories

  1. Our library has some lovely hard-cover short stories that are just one story on its own. recently I reread Ernest Hemingway’s A Clean Well Lighted Place which is excellent and I also read Ray Bradbury’s The Smile. I love A.S.Byatt’s Stone Woman and Italo Calvino’s The Enchanted Garden from his collection Difficult Loves.

    I have lots of collections and lots of favourites and wrote a blog post two years, one of my post entitles Why People Don’t Read Short Stories which was all about why I do!

    Thank you for sharing your favourites, a wonderful idea.

  2. Our library has some lovely hard-cover short stories that are just one story on its own. Recently I reread Ernest Hemingway’s A Clean Well Lighted Place which is excellent and I also read Ray Bradbury’s The Smile in this form. I love A.S.Byatt’s Stone Woman and Italo Calvino’s The Enchanted Garden from his collection Difficult Loves.

    I have lots of collections and lots of favourites and wrote a blog post two years, one of my post entitles Why People Don’t Read Short Stories which was all about why I do! – with the correct link!

    Thank you for sharing your favourites, a wonderful idea.

Leave a Reply

