Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I’ve Never Read

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read. I definitely have nothing against popular fiction. I will read the buzzworthy book of the moment as fast as anyone else, as long as it’s something I’m interested in. But I also work in a library, and the longer I do the more strongly I feel about authors who are more a brand than anything else. So these are 10 authors that I’ve never read, and will probably never read, either because they’re a “brand” more than an artist, because their personalities annoy me, or because I was never that interested in them to begin with and came to hate them in principle around the billionth time someone told me I HAD to read them.

1. Dan Brown

2. Dave Eggers

3. Janet Evanovich

4. Sue Grafton

5. E. L. James

6. Debbie Macomber

7. Stephanie Meyer

8. James Patterson

9. JK Rowling

10. Nicholas Sparks

How about you guys?

5 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I’ve Never Read

  1. I’ve read Dan Brown and I did enjoy the Da Vinci Code. When I read the next book in the series, it became so very obvious that he has a formula and it irritated me to no end. Da Vinci Code is pure entertainment but I would be hard pressed to read another book by him.

    • hlmorris85

      Formula’s ok, sometimes, but I’ve never been interested in his particular brand of ancient conspiracy theories and I think some readers take what should be pure entertainment way too seriously, so it’s just not my cup of tea.

  2. She

    I can’t do the whole EL JUames thing either.

  3. I agree with all of this. Haven’t read any of them except for J.K. Rowling, and I only read her out of peer pressure. I remember in 3rd grade, someone was doing show and tell and brought in a Hedwig mug. I said, “What’s a Hedwig?” and the whole class collectively spun around to look at me with horror in their eyes. That night I demanded that my mother buy all the Harry Potter books and read them to me. Dark times.

    • hlmorris85

      I finally decided a few years ago that I had to stop giving into peer pressure to read certain books and authors. Like I said, I’m not anti-popular lit by any means, but if I don’t have any initial interest in it, I’m not going to jump on the bandwagon just because everyone else is, because that takes away from the time I have for books I *do* want to read!

Leave a Reply

