Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite fantasy books

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Books in a genre. I kind of avoid genre distinctions, because then you get into subgenres, and things just get all nitpicky and confusing. But, since in the most general sense I usually read fantasy, I figured I’d do my top ten fantasy books.

742751. Lynn Flewelling- Stalking Darkness

I love the entire Nightrunner series, of course, but this is my favorite, because I am a total angst whore. And oh god, the angst. Identity crises, characters separated just as they are falling in love, sacrifice in the face of evil, emotional trauma. Plus hot boys making out. Ugh. Love it to bits.

2. George R. R. Martin- A Storm of Swords 6307964

Angst. Whore. You got that part, right?

Even looked at objectively, I think this is considered the peak of A Song of Ice and Fire. It’s all downhill from here.

Also, this is the book wherein I fell in love with Jaime Lannister, a love which will never die.

158190283. Helene Wrecker- The Golem and the Jinni

One of the best books I read in 2013, an unusual romance with incredible characters and beautiful prose.

4. Mary Robinette Kowal- Without a Summer 15793208

I love Kowal’s entire Glamourist Histories series, but the latest entry is my favorite so far, and I’m looking forward to more.

6715605. Lynn Flewelling- The Bone Doll’s Twin

The beginning chapters of this book still creep me out to this day, and I love all of the gender issues raised by this novel.

6. Tamora Pierce- Emperor Mage 858668

I haven’t read the Immortals series in forever, but I adored it when I was a young’n, and Emperor Mage was definitely my fave–I own two copies, apparently because I completely destoryed the first one but could not bear to part with it. (also, there are newer covers but I am ALL ABOUT that old skool version)

8833147. Patricia C. Wrede- Dealing With Dragons

My first feminist fantasy. Do kids still read this one? They should.

8. Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman- Good Omens 12067

My first Pratchett and my first Gaiman. I read it back in high school and honestly, it’s probably due for a reread. Two of my favorite movies are Dogma and Life of Brian, so it’s probably not surprising that humorous send-ups of the Bible/the Apocalypse are totally my jam.

64370619. N.K. Jemisin- The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

Jemisin is my favorite fantasy author of the moment. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with myself when I finish getting through her books.

10. C.S. Lewis- The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe 100915

A staple of the fantasy genre. Every early villain I ever wrote was the White Witch, though it took me years to realize this. And a little part of me still hopes that one day I will open a door, and find another world.

6 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite fantasy books

  1. Love ‘Good Omens’! I feel like it’s an under appreciated book! 🙂

    • hlmorris85

      I think that might be due to it being an older book…humor (to me, anyway) dates itself much quicker than other genres, so it might not work as well in 2014 as it did in the 90s. I have fond memories, though.

  2. I haven’t read any of Jemisin’s books but I’m waiting for The Fifth Season to come out next year!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • hlmorris85

      She’s one of my favorite voices in spec fiction at the moment. Fascinating worldbuilding, engaging characters, quality writing.

  3. Currently reading Jemisen and really enjoying it A LOT!
    Great list. I haven’t read all of these, but, now I want to.
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

