Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters Who I Would Totally Marry (That Aren’t Mr. Darcy)

toptentuesday

It’s time for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke & The Bookish. Today’s topic was Top Ten Characters Who X (with bloggers filling in the blank for themselves). I decided to go a little silly (and specific), with ten characters who I would totally marry (that aren’t Fitzwilliam Darcy).

Look. If there’s one thing I’ve come to learn about myself in almost 29 years (eep!), it’s that I’m just not a relationship person. I can barely handle friends and family, much less romance, and I can’t even live with a roommate, let alone a spouse. So when I say that I would totally marry someone, you know it’s True Love ™. It’s much easier to be in love with fictional people, anyway.

1. Sebastian Gage from the Lady Darby mysteries by Anna Lee Huber

I’m really into this series at the moment and anxiously awaiting the third installment, and a big part of why I’m enjoying it is the charming inquiry agent Sebastian Gage. He’s a flirt and a rake, but he’s also deeply caring and protective, not to mention golden-haired and gorgeous.

2. The Jinni from The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wrecker

The Golem and the Jinni was one of my favorite books last year. The Jinni is arrogant and dangerous, and very, very much not human. He’s also literally made of fire. That’s pretty hot. (Thank you, thank you, I’ll be here all week).

100253053. Jem Carstairs from the Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare

One of the reasons I like the Infernal Devices series is that it takes the usual love triangle and kind of skews it a bit, and in the end both heroes get the girl. Will is great, and to be honest his brand of tall dark and angsty is usually right up my alley, but Jem is something special. I’m not even sure how to articulate why he his so wonderful, but I just loved him so much.

4. Jesse from the Mediator series by Meg Cabot

Honestly, why couldn’t I have a sexy cowboy ghost haunting my bedroom as a teenager? To this day, the word querida gives me shivers.

5. Jaime Lannister from A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin untitled

Look, I know Jaime Lannister’s done many terrible things that he can’t possibly be excused for or redeemed for. But he’s never been as bad as he wants people to believe. The character I identify most with in ASoIaF is Brienne of Tarth, and Brienne and Jaime are made for each other, so that’s a lot of why I love him so much, too. And let’s be honest, he’s also very, very pretty.

6. Peeta Mellark from the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins

Peeta-Catching-Fire-peeta-mellark-33875800-423-500Team Peeta all the way. He shows that you can be kind and yet still strong and brave. He’s the perfect foil for Katniss. And it’s nice to have one person in that series who is just pure and good.

7. Sebastian Malheur from the Brothers Sinister series by Courtney Milan

I’m really enjoying Courtney Milan’s novels right now, and so far Sebastian is my favorite of her heroes. Again with the Rake-But-Not-Really trope; he’s charming and scandalous, but never as bad as he wants you to believe underneath it all.

8. Colonel Brandon from Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen 2

I had to have an Austen hero here somewhere. Most of my love of Colonel Brandon has to come from the fact that I’ve watched the Emma Thompson movie a billion freaking times and Alan Rickman makes me swoon.

9. Numair Salmalin from The Immortals series by Tamora Pierce

Probably one of my first fictional loves. Tall, dark, and skinny, which, despite all the blonds on this list is kind of my thing. But also scholarly and kind of awkward.

10. Seregil of Rhiminee from the Nightrunner series by Lynn Flewelling

I fell in love with Seregil the minute he sloughed off the foppish persona he initially met Alec in, and I never really stopped. You’ve got the tall, dark, and skinny thing I love so much. He’s charming and roguish. Sometimes arrogant, but not without reason. Smart and tricky. Witty and passionate. Plus, he looks really good in a dress. And, since I can’t for the life of me bear to separate them, I’d have to marry Alec, too, which I am more than okay with. Seriously, though, Seregil is like every character I love rolled into one. And so he’s my absolute forever favorite.

4 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters Who I Would Totally Marry (That Aren’t Mr. Darcy)

  1. Totally with you on Colonel Brandon – not sure about Jaime Lannister – he’s definitely easy on the eye but, I think his past would put me off!
    Lynn 😀

  2. Tamora Pierce makes some very interesting characters, doesn’t she? I agree, the Jinni is definitely interesting, though I don’t know about marrying him, since we’re mere humans, after all.

    • hlmorris85

      Pierce definitely gets the adolescent reader. I swooned over all her male characters, and idolized her female characters.

Leave a Reply

