Top Ten Tuesday: Book Cover Trends

toptentuesday

 

The topic of this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Book Cover Trends I Like and/or Dislike.

There’s really only one trend that has my attention right now, but I loooove it.

18453074 19104786

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Text!

1877528418007533

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Specifically, covers where text is the primary, or only, element.

1011288517934530

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m a bit of a typography junkie, and I love to see publishers and designers being creative with their typefaces and the composition and layering of text. There’s a million different things you can do with text, and it can convey lots of different moods or styles.

But there are plenty of cover elements out there that I can do without. Not quite nine, so I’m kind of cheating with this list, but here’s some cover elements I’m sick of.

1. Look, look, look how big my name is!

tlccontentCAY4M5YAtlccontent

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I get it. You’re big time, and probably have a half dozen ghostwriters on the payroll.

2. Foot Fetish

18656072in-her-shoes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am so, so sick of feet. There is only one shoe cover that is ever going to work, and that is:

Lolita

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Women at the Beach

1606551216131115

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chilling under umbrellas, wearing vintage looking swimwear, being generally Chick Lit-y. You just know it’s going to be all about middle age and divorce and body issues.

4. Holy Eyeballs, Batman!

Shatter me new eye co#1A459rs_634x976-140218113240-634.book-kylie-kendall.cm.21814_copy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

OK, so for this one I actually have a thing. I have a giant phobia of eyeballs, enough so that when I saw the cover of Karen Russell’s new novella (which nothing in the world could induce me to look up and post here), I actually screamed. Out loud. At work. These aren’t as bad, even kind of pretty, but at the same time they gross me out. I definitely won’t ever be picking up any eyeball books, I can assure you.

What do love about covers? What do you hate? Any trends I’m missing?

5 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Cover Trends

  1. What about the swirling banner trend? Like with The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden? Great collection.

    • hlmorris85

      I’ve never noticed the swirling banner thing, but now that you point it out, I see there’s a lot out there.

  2. I hate all the book covers that jumped up as a result of 50 Shades of Grey. Grey book with a stiletto heeled shoe, or a pair of cuff links! NOOOOOOO!
    Lynn 😀

    • hlmorris85

      That’s a good one. I came close to putting one of those ubiquitous stiletto shoes under the “foot fetish,” but it’s almost its own category by now. (A Louboutin and some fishnets = badly written erotica)

  3. Haha, i do agree with you on many of those thriller/crime novels. If you’ve seen one cover…you’ve seen them all!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

Leave a Reply

