Tough Travel- Princesses

Tough-Traveling-jpeg

Every Thursday, the Fantasy Review Barn is taking us on a journey through Fantasyland with their Tough Travel Guide. I’ve been meaning to join in for awhile, but I can never seem to come up with a very interesting list. Princesses, though? Princesses I can handle.

PRINCESSES come in two main kinds:

1. Wimps.

2 Spirited and wilful. Spirited Princesses often disguise themselves as boys and invariably marry commoners of sterling worth.

With those constraints in mind…

742731. Princess Kila- the Nightrunner series by Lynn Flewelling

The youngest daughter of Queen Idrilain, Klia starts out as a pretty badass warrior, then she becomes a pretty badass ambassador, and THEN she has a wizard baby (who I’m assuming is also fairly badass because she’s the only wizard baby in the history of the Third Oreska.) I would love for Klia to have her own book or story some day, because she definitely deserves to be a central character for once. (and ok, that cover is totally Beka, but let’s pretend for a moment that it’s Klia)

2. Cimorene- the Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia C. Wrede

Cimorene is the perfect sort of heroine for the sort of girl who grows up to be a librarian.

3. Princess Buttercup- The Princess Bride by William Goldman

Neither a princess nor a bride, Buttercup is still the quintessential image of a princess, isn’t she?

4. Sidonie de la Courcel- The Kushiel books by Jaqueline Carey

So I kind of barely remember these books, at least the second trilogy where Sidonie is primarily present. But I’m still counting her.

5- Anne Dare- The Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone series by Greg Keyes

This is a series that’s due for a reread, especially because I’m pretty sure I never made it to the last book! Anne Dare is your usual sort of spunky, rebellious princess, but as I remember it (admittedly not well) she grows into a great leader.

6. Harry (Princess Maud)- the Harry and Marlowe short stories by Carrie Vaughn

So far, I’ve only read one Harry and Marlowe story (I believe there are currently four? I could be wrong), but I quite enjoyed it. In an alternate Victorian London, Harry is a crossdressing scientist/adventurer. I can’t wait to see more of her.

11 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

11 responses to “Tough Travel- Princesses

  1. Lots of great books and interesting princesses on this list. Thanks for posting it. Wish I had read half of these. Have to get back to reading my ARCs, so I can start reading some of the stuff I’ve missed over the years. 🙂

  2. Wow! I’ve read none of your picks! But I love that, because now I’m finding more books to read. Nightrunner in a particular sounds like something I might like (given the character description for Klia)

    • hlmorris85

      One of the things I enjoy about the Nightrunner series, and the prequel series in the same world, is that the country is ruled by queens. (They used to be ruled by kings, until one day an oracle told the king to give the crown to his teenage daughter and, hey presto, he actually did.) There’s lots of opportunity for varied female characters.

  3. Wow, apart from Princess Bride I’ve read none of these. Nick picks! – well I have read the first in the Kushiel series (but don’t recall a Princess in that particular one).
    Lynn 😀

    • hlmorris85

      The Kusihel series (serieses?) are so convoluted…I could have sworn there were a half a dozen princess characters, but when I went to write about it, all I could find was Sidonie, who I remember had some sort of star crossed romance with Imriel.

  4. I seriously need to read some Patricia C Wrede lots of folks were featuring her today.

  5. So happy to see how much love Cimorene is getting! She’s my homegirl. A librarian AND a cook? That’s best friend material for sure.

    • hlmorris85

      Re-looking at those books for the first time in years, I’m realizing how much she secretly influenced me. And also now I kind of want to make cherries jubilee.

Leave a Reply

