Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read. I own these but am ‘meh’ on all of them for one reason or another. But here’s your chance to convince me to take the plunge!

109641. Diana Gabaldon- Outlander (it’s just. so. LONG. I’m already neck deep in ASoIaF over here, I need another long-booked series like a hole in the head.)

2. Abraham Verghese- Cutting for Stone

3. Scott Lynch- The Lies of Locke Lamora

4. Laini Taylor- Daughter of Smoke and Bone (I can never resist a good remainders sale)

5. Deborah Harkness- A Discovery of Witches (ditto)

6. Marilynne Robinson- Housekeeping11577576

7. D. B. Jackson- Thieftaker (confession: I totally DNFed this, and had it ready to go in my library donations bag, but then I saw Jackson on some panels at a con and thought I should give it another try.)

13528340 8. Jenny Lawson- Let’s Pretend this Never Happened

9. Connie Willis- To Say Nothing of the Dog

10. Various- Athena’s Daughters (I backed this Kickstarter…and then by the time it was over, I’d lost interest for some bizarre reason.)

So, any of these worth cracking into?

8 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read

  1. I know what you mean about Outlander. It is one long series, but apparently it’s unputdownable. But i’m not much for series and time travel tends to put me off, so I’m giving it a pass.
    Cutting for Stone on the other hand, is magical. I love that book and I think you should read it.

    • hlmorris85

      Cutting For Stone has suffered from the fact that, since its sat on the TBR shelf so long, I’m no longer quite sure how it got there in the first place. But I think I’m finally going to tackle it in the next week or so.

  2. I read about the first five of Outlander (maybe six). They’re good stories – depends if you want something with a bit of romance or not really.
    Scott Lynch – I love his series to be honest. Detailed, complex and brilliant world building.
    A Discovery of Witches – read the first two. Qutie enjoyed the first but with niggles, the second I didn’t get on with very well and havent’ continued.
    Daughter of Smoke and Bone is very readable and enjoyable yet surprisingly I’ve stopped there? For some reason unknown. Maybe I’ll continue at some point.
    Lynn 😀

    • hlmorris85

      I quite liked the Outlander TV show, so I think I’m going to watch the whole season and maybe then tackle the book. I almost never do the book/movie first so that will be interesting!

  3. Outlander is long! And it feels it too. I thought Daughter of Smoke and Bone was unbearable, the first half is quite readable but half way through it goes into a completely different world which is just so jarring. I really enjoyed A Discovery of Witches although it’s also pretty long and loses steam a bit at the end.

    • hlmorris85

      I’m hearing a lot of mixed things on Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Oh well, it was four dollars, so I won’t feel too bad if it ends up in the library donation bag.

  4. Outlander was the pick for my book club, but I feel like I’d have a lot of trouble getting into it!

    I adored The Lies of Locke Lamora and read 75% of it in bed one morning waiting for my parents to wake up. I loved the ideas and society Lynch set up.

    I’m iffy on Daughter of Smoke and Bone: I feel like the series had a lot of potential, and the first, say, 50% of book one is lovely, but I also feel like after book one, Taylor loses the plot a bit and things meander for much longer than they should. Book two suffers from middle book syndrome and book three was a good book on its own, but tied into the rest of the series I found it a bad ending.

Leave a Reply

