Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Really Want to Read but Don’t Own Yet

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet.

OK, first off, people, go the fuck to the library.

Now, that’s out of the way. Of course, being a book lover, there are some books I just have to own. Almost all books I read through the library first, but I do have some insta-buy authors and books I just want to have all to myself. Most of these, alas, aren’t out yet. The rest I’m waiting for paperbacks or affordable ebooks. (I know, I know, I’m the worst, but I absolutely cannot justify spending 10 dollars on an ebook. Unless I get a gift card, it ain’t happening.)

1894965018461823

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. David Mitchell- The Bone Clocks

2. N. K. Jemisin- The Fifth Season

1320682820821043

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Marissa Meyer- Cress

4. Tana French- The Secret Place

1728684915824178

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Rainbow Rowell- Fangirl (a few paychecks down the road, I plan to go on a Rainbow Rowell buying spree)

6. Jim C. Hines- Codex Born

17262100 18077752

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. Jhumpa Lahiri- The Lowland

8. Jeff Vandermeer- Acceptance

9. Justin Cronin- The City of Mirrors

10. George R. R. Martin- The Winds of Winter. (When, George? WHEN?)

6 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Really Want to Read but Don’t Own Yet

  1. Haha, I love the nod to GRRM. I’m pretty stoked to read into Jemisin’s writing for the first time in The Fifth Season! And I totally understand the unwillingness to spend that much on an ebook when a paper/hard back can be roughly the same price when discounted (well, sort of).

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • hlmorris85

      Supporting authors is important to me, but when it comes right down to it, if I can buy 5 two dollar ebooks or 1 ten dollar ebook, guess what, I’m going for the 5. I know its a bit different for self-pubbed authors, but when big houses charge the same or nearly the same for the ebook as they do for the hardcover, when the ebook comes with no overheads or production costs, that really, really bothers me. But its all about deciding what I want from an individual book–instant gratification, or a physical copy, or waiting in the library queue.

  2. I actually do use the library quite a lot – except when I’m feeling too impatient to wait! Stops my shelves being too overburdened!
    Good list. That’s the third in the Jeff Vandermeer isn’t it – I need to get on with No.2 – the first was so creepy!
    Lynn 😀

    • hlmorris85

      That was (mostly) a joke 🙂 (It just seems to me that so many book bloggers buy *so many* books. The library is great! Most of the time, if they don’t have something, they’ll even buy it just for you!)

      I’m hoping to get to the 2nd Vandermeer in a week or two. Now those I don’t mind buying, FSG knows how to make a beautiful book and they look so pretty on my shelves.

  3. These look really good. Cress and Fangirl have been on my list for a while.

Leave a Reply

