Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I need to read more

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From but Need to Read More.

My usual modus operandi, when I find an author I like, is to immediately run out and get all their other books that I can from the library and binge. I had a year that was mostly Murakami, a year that was mostly Nabokov, (a number of years that were mostly pretentious…). Anyway, what I mean to say is that this list is hard, because I just don’t work that way. Usually, if I’ve only read one book by an author that means I’m not ever going to touch them again. But there are a few exceptions.

Robin LaFevers– I recently finished Grave Mercy and while I wasn’t completely blown away, it was good enough that I want to check out the rest of the series.

Nicola GriffithHild was one of my favorite books of 2013. I’m a little apprehensive looking at Griffith’s backlist, and nothing has really appealed to me yet, but I want to try more.

Scott Lynch– One of these days I am finally going to sit down and finish the Gentleman Bastards. Really truly.

Jim C. Hines– I enjoyed Libriomancer, but I just haven’t made it to the sequel yet.

Adam Johnson– I don’t even know if he’s written another book, but The Orphan Master’s Son is another one of my favorites from the last year or so.

Helene Wecker– Her debut novel was exquisite, I need more like yesterday.

Truman Capote– I’ve always meant to read Breakfast at Tiffanys, but I’ve never gotten to it.

Jeff VanderMeer– I’m getting there, but not quite yet.

Leigh Bardugo– I wasn’t really into the first Grisha book, but everyone seems to go so gaga that I’m wondering if I should give it a second try.

Sarah J. Maas- Same as above. I can’t quite decide if I was in the midst of an old lady, YA sucks phase or if Throne of Glass really was that bad.

2 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

2 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I need to read more

  1. I tend to binge read too, but I do it within genres and get sick of them. I had to cool it on young adult for awhile because of that. This was a great list and very frank (I liked that).

Leave a Reply

