Tough Traveling: Dark Ladies

Tough-Traveling-jpeg

Every Thursday, the Fantasy Review Barn is taking us on a journey through Fantasyland with their Tough Travel Guide. Today’s topic is Dark Ladies.

DARK LADY. There is never one of these – so see DARK LORD instead.

Pfft. We can do better than that.

Turkdel8The White Witch (The Chronicles of Narnia) The original bad lady of fantasy, Jadis the White Witch plunged Narnia into a world where it was always winter–and never Christmas! Every villain I wrote when I was young was basically the White Witch, which I didn’t even realize until I was like 20.
Melisande (The Kushiel series) The Dom to Phaedre’s sub, Melisande does some pretty terrible things for power. I don’t remember many of the details (its been a long time), but I remember her as a pretty nasty piece of work.
Queen Levana (The Lunar chronicles) The Lunar Chronicles is undoubtedly my favorite ongoing YA series at the moment. Queen Levana controls the moon with an iron fist, and is scheming to take over Earth as well. She’s a bit flat, actually, but I like over-the-top megolomaniacal villains of that ilk.

Marsilia (The Mercy Thompson series) Queen of the vampires. Nuff said.

Mrs. Coulter (His Dark Materials) Mrs. Coulter is elegant, fashionable, and cruel. All requirements I think pertain to Dark Ladies.

Rhazat (Shards of Time) The last Nightrunner was…not what I wanted it to be. But it did feature a malicious, vengeful dyrmagnos that wore a beautiful woman’s skin and ruled over a kingdom of ghosts. So there’s that.

8 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

8 responses to “Tough Traveling: Dark Ladies

  1. Glad we agreed on the White Witch. She was definitely a Dark Lady, no matter how snow white pure she appeared. As for the others, I have not read any of those books, but it sounds like I should. 🙂

  2. Aiii, why didn’t I think of Mrs. Coulter?? Great list! 😀

  3. Those are some great picks! Levana, The White Witch! – I haven’t read the Kushiel books yet but they are high on my TBR and heck yes to Marsilia and and Mrs. Coultier! Excellent reading tastes dear.

  4. Well done – you got loads this week. I was absolutely useless!
    I nearly put Narnia!
    Well done getting Marsilia. Definitely evil.
    Lynn 😀

    • hlmorris85

      Narnia was definitely the first thing I thought of! I’m kind of surprised this list isn’t longer, actually. I love the tropes of evil women, and I thought I’d read a whole lot more.

  5. I have read none of those! Well, some of Narnia when I was little but I have zero memory of it. And the first Mercy book. Maybe I did see the vampire in the Mercy book. Can’t remember.

    • hlmorris85

      I can’t remember where Marsilia first appears in the Mercy books, but she’s a really interesting, amoral character.

Leave a Reply

