Top Ten Tuesday: Winter TBR

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, is Top Ten Books on my Winter TBR.

Well…since I didn’t end up getting to a single item on my Fall TBR list (…oops), let’s just add to it why not.

215352691. Ludmilla Petrushevskaya- There Once Lived a Mother Who Loved Her Children, Until They Moved Back In. I just love her. And I love the way Penguin markets the translations of her books. The titles, the design. It’s all so great.

2. Haruki Murakami- Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years Of Pilgrimage. It has been awhile since I picked up a Murakami, I think this will be a good one to restart.

3. Maggie Stiefvater- The Raven Boys. I’ve been wanting to check out Maggie Stiefvater for a while now. I’m going to do it. Really.

4. Hilary Mantel- The Assasination of Margaret Thatcher. For some reason I’ve been a bit reluctant to tackle Hilary Mantel, I’m hoping short stories will help me get over that.

5. John Scalzi- Lock In. Poor Lock In has been sitting on my TBR shelf just pleading to be read for months now. I’m sorry for ignoring you, book!

6. Robert Jackson Bennett- City of Stairs. I found out about this one through one of those list memes (Tough Travels? I think.) Anyway, it looks quite good.

7. Chase Novak- Brood. I’ve been in the mood for disturbing books for months now. This looks like it fits the bill.

8. Keigo Higashino- Malice. Oh good more international crime fiction just what I need. (I kid, I kid.) This looks like a good mystery…and it seems like more and more, crime fiction is a great place to find works in translation. Maybe I’m just noticing it more. But I’m reading more authors in translation than I probably ever have, and they seem to be mostly crime writers.

9. Max Gladstone- Three Parts Dead. This has been another one actually sitting on my physical TBR shelf, silently rebuking me, for months.

10. A.S. King- Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future. Every single thing I hear about this novel makes it sound badass and feministy and I need it in my brain.

What books are you hoping to tackle in the next few months? Winter is my favorite reading time of the year. Getting lost with a book while under piles of blankets keeps out the cold.

6 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Winter TBR

  1. bendingoverbookwards

    I haven’t got round to Murakami’s new one yet, to be honest i feel like I need a big long stretch of free time to tackle it properly!

  2. Yeah, I also haven’t tackled any Mantle yet even though she’s so popular. I do have a book of hers that’s based in the Elizabethan era about ghosts – I do quite fancy that – I should go and dig it out.
    Lynn 😀

  3. Awesome diverse list! I adored City of Stairs – really fun read. I have been also been wanting to check out Maggie Stiefvater. Well her books, not her. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

