Top Ten Tuesday: Resolutions

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2015 — bookish, blogging or otherwise!

1. DNF more. This is always a goal of mine, as I have slogged through some excruciating books for no reason, when I should have just given them up. I’m learning. Slowly.

2. Get my Goodreads TBR under 100 books. I tend to hop over to Goodreads and throw titles on whenever I hear of something remotely interesting, but then I never go back and actually read them. Currently it’s hovering around 150 books. I need to do some pruning.

3. Read all those damn ebooks already. Just like with Goodreads, I tend to hop on the nook store every couple of weeks and look at sales. And if something is appealing and cheap, I’ll just buy it. And then never read it. I have eleventy billion ebooks sitting around, along with magazines and anthologies I keep avoiding. It’s kind of out of control.

4. Read more nonfiction. I genuinely like nonfiction, but, because it takes me longer to read, and because I don’t usually buy it, I tend not to read it as much. I’d like to branch out more from my little comfort sphere (medieval history, bios of queens and other powerful women).

5. Publish again. I finally had a few stories published in 2013 after many years of working for it, but 2014 was a non-publishing year. I’m trying to cut myself slack on that because, hey, heart surgery took up quite a bit of the year. But it still feels like a slide backwards. So! Submit, submit, submit, and hopefully publish, publish, publish!

6. Bite the bullet on The Novel. I’ve written novels before. They have generally been “practice” and not particularly good or saleable. But this year, I sat down and seriously worked on a project. It’s a fantasy novel that was actually the first thing I ever wrote, but I have worked it and shaped it and now it actually looks like Something. Something that works as A Novel. For Real. I hope. And now I have to stop being afraid and bite the bullet and try to get it out there into the world.

7. Work on my heart health. Heart surgery. It’s the pits. I had a lot of unexpected complications after my surgery, but at this moment I am healthier than I’ve ever been in my life. My condition was congenital and not really caused by my choices, but my choices didn’t particularly help, either. So I’m trying to break myself of bad habits, and retrain myself. It’s a process, but I will try every day to be in tune with my body and be as healthy as I am able to be.

8. Get back to hobbies.  I am the worst at picking things up and then dropping them the minute I realize they’re hard to learn. I played the guitar for like two minutes, I knitted for maybe a week. And then I didn’t practice enough and it wasn’t coming easy so I just quit. So my out of tune guitar is gathering dust, and all the yarn I bought is sitting tangled up in a basket. This year, I resolve to do things I’m no good at because, damn it, I need hobbies.

9. Get back to Photoshopping. This is kind of part and parcel of #8, but I used to really love playing around with Photoshop, and I haven’t really used it at all this year, so I need to start making things again!

10. Don’t read so much. It sounds silly for a book blogger to say, I know. But after the first half of the year, where I wasn’t really enjoying many of my reads and then I quite literally couldn’t read, I kind of swung wildly in the opposite direction and read to the exclusion of almost everything else in my life. I’m not good at having a life. If I didn’t have a full time job, I might never step outside of my house. It’s gotten a lot worse as I’ve gotten older, when I thought it would turn out the other way. So I definitely have to stop reading so much and start doing instead.

Lulu-louise-brooks-31447797-500-350

Happy 2015, everyone! Let’s make it a party!

15 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

15 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Resolutions

  1. Glad that you are healthier now than you have ever been before!
    I also have to bite the bullet on “The Novel.” Hopefully both of us will in 2015!!! Happy New Year!

    My TTT- https://amandasnoseinabook.wordpress.com/2014/12/30/top-ten-goalsresolutions-for-2015/

    • hlmorris85

      It’s really kind of terrifying to me to have so much of myself wrapped up in one piece of writing. I don’t know if I’ll truly be able to get it out there. But I’m going to try!

  2. Love your list. And I’m all for DNFing more. I wrote one DNF review this past year and I’m glad i did it. Now just to get into the habit of not finishing more often. Life is too short to slog through a book that isn’t working.

    • hlmorris85

      Over the past few months I’ve started not finishing a lot more. It’s easy to feel guilty about, but there just isn’t enough time in life to read all the books, so I’m really trying to stick to it.

  3. I agree with you on the DNF. I think that sometimes it is better not to fight it and just go with it.

  4. I definitely think DNF is a good idea. So many people I know feel they must read to the end and I used to be among that number but not anymore! If I’m not enjoying it it gets put down.
    Glad that you’re feeling better and that your operation went well. Good luck with your healthier resolution – that’s something I also need to work on.
    All the best for 2015.
    Lynn 😀

    • hlmorris85

      I wasted a lot of time being a cover-to-cover reader. I feel like this is the one resolution of these that I DEFINITELY have to stick too.

  5. Right there with you on the ebooks resolution. I do the exact same thing: if I see something from my wishlist and it’s on sale, I’ll buy it. they’ve been (virtually) piling up this year, and I need to get busy making a dent!

    • hlmorris85

      I’m glad I’m not the only one 🙂 It’s so easy since they don’t take up any space to let them multiply, and I keep finding books I completely forgot about buying! I also have a gift card on my nook that is not going to help matters…we’ll see how long I can last before buying new ebooks but my goal is to at least finish 2 first.

  6. joyweesemoll

    Great goals! I love your mix of creative, self-care, and reading. Happy New Year!

  7. I feel ya about the goodreads TBR – I do the same thing. It’s a great place to hold books I want to remember but I should look at it from time to time, lol! I also enjoyed your #10 – doing is also important and I sometimes forget that!

  8. You should definitely consider getting back into Photoshop! I can’t even count the number of hours I’ve spent on certain projects back in the day making forum signatures.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • hlmorris85

      I used to do a lot of things like making covers for my mix cds and playing around with different fonts to make prints of quotes…it was kind of a way to turn my brain off, and I definitely need to get back to that!

  9. Awesome resolutions! You’re making me want to make resolutions of my own when I already decided not to haha. I definitely need to get behind #3, though. I have way too many ebooks, I don’t even know what to do with them. And because they’re not physical, I just forget about them! Oops. I’m bad at things.

Leave a Reply

