January Round Up

037

I’m trying something new; I’m going to do a monthly wrap-up post about books and other media. Just to try and keep track of things. We’ll see how long this lasts!

Reading

I read 11 books in January, which is about five more than I expected to, especially because I’ve banned reading on weekends (…well, tried to ban it. Sometimes I crack.) Two were from my TBR project, 1 was nonfiction. Two of them were connected by Alexander the Great; I did not intend that, but it was an interesting coincidence. My favorites of the month were Holly Black’s The Coldest Girl in Coldtown and Mary Renault’s The Persian Boy. 

Reading Diversity

4 of the books I read in January featured QUILTBAG characters. Two of these had trans characters. A very female-heavy month: 8 female authors, 3 male. All 11 authors were white. Which is definitely something I need to work on.

Writing

I finished writing three short stories and am working off-and-on on five short stories. I still haven’t been able to get back into the Novel of Doom, which I pushed aside due to some life issues over the holidays. I’m about a third through a draft, but I’m going to continue giving it breathing room rather than force it. In the interim, I’ve started notes and some early writing on a different novel.

Rejections have been really wearing me down lately. I know I have to submit things to get anywhere, but I just haven’t been in a great headspace to do it. So I only submitted three stories.

TV Junkie

agent-carter_612x380

Agent Carter is pretty much the best thing to ever happen in my life. I have SO MANY things to say about it, but I’ll refrain for the moment.

I’m really glad that The Americans is back. It continues to be one of the best-acted and written shows on TV.

Scandal and How to Get Away With Murder continue to be batshit insane and awesome.

I quit watching both Gotham and Sleepy Hollow. I enjoyed Gotham at first but I think it might have been better served by a shorter season, and my interest has just sort of fizzled. Sleepy Hollow really upsets me. They went from being my favorite thing on TV to a steaming pile in a few short episodes and it was so frustrating. I tried to watch Empire but it wasn’t what I wanted it to be, so I stopped after the pilot. May try it again later.

Mix Tape

I’ve really been enjoying Night Terrors of 1927’s full-length debut, Everything’s Coming Up Roses. While I still don’t like this band as much as I do Rilo Kiley or The Elected, I will take Blake Sennett any which way I can get him, and it is a really good album.

I’ve come to terms with the fact that The Decemberists are never again going to make anything I love like The Crane Wife, and so I am able to enjoy What a Terrible World, What a Beautiful World without worrying about it anymore. There are some fun songs but nothings particularly struck me yet.

Well that’s it, time to get ready for February.

Leave a comment

Filed under Round Up

Leave a Reply

