Top Ten Tuesday: I Haven’t Read It

toptentuesday

The topic of today’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t/Want To Read From X Genre.

We’re doing fantasy today, because I’ve come to realize that I no longer really read in the genre I write in. There’s lots of reasons why, but I feel like I’ve missed some big ones along the way. Also I’ve decided to change this to authors instead of specific books, because I don’t necessarily know where to start.

1. Patrick Rothfuss (I mean, I hear good things, but I just haven’t been hooked.)

2. Robert Jordan (that Wheel of Time. Yeesh. That would probably take me the better part of a year.)

3. Brandon Sanderson (been sitting patiently on my ereader for a while now)

4. Mark Lawrence (another one where I hear good things but remain unhooked)

5. China Mieville (Mieville is one I’m super intimidated by)

6. Piers Anthony  (this feels like a notable omission because I am from Florida)

7.  Anne McCaffery (I know Pern is science fiction. Shush.)

8. Catherynne M. Valente (I’ve heard AMAZING things, but frankly I just don’t know where to start.)

9. Mercedes Lackey (It completely baffles me how I made it out of high school without ever once picking up one of Lackey’s frosting-pink girly looking books)

10. Robin McKinley (Ditto.)

So for the most part, I think this list is because fantasy feels like a boys’ club, more so than it did when I was in high school. (Despite the fact that this list is actually pretty evenly split). Everything in the genre feels same-y to me right now, even if that’s not the actual case. I also read a ton of speculative short fiction, so maybe that’s burned me out for longer works.

Any recommendations on where to start?

4 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: I Haven’t Read It

  1. Nooooo, fantasy is NOT a boys club! Okay, – Valente – read The Girl who Circumnavigated Fairyland, and for McKinley – well, Sunshine, or if you want something a bit gentler – Beauty – a fairytale retelling.
    I confess I love 1, 3, 4 and 7 but reading into your comments have chosen the ones I think you might like too. Hope you give them a try.
    Lynn 😀

    • hlmorris85

      Oh I plan to read all of them…at some point. I don’t particularly know *why* I feel that way about it being a boys club (like I said, half of this list is women!)…it just seems like in high school and early college I was reading a lot of great women fantasy writers, and obviously they’re still out there but somehow when I’m in the bookstore these days I just see men, men, men, and more men.Maybe because the field is so saturated with George R. R. Martin right now? (And I like GRRM, that’s not the problem, it just seems like there’s so much marketing out there of “the next GRRM!” and “the new Game of Thrones!”)

  2. I have been hearing great things about The name of the wind about çatrick Rothfuss, I so want to read it!!

    My TTT: http://frannieinthepages.blogspot.it/2015/02/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-i-cant.html

  3. There are some books on this list I need to read too haha!! Here is my Top Ten Tuesday if you wanna check it out 🙂 http://bookbabble.weebly.com/blog/top-ten-tuesday1

Leave a Reply

