Top Ten Tuesday: Staying Power

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Books You Would Classify As ALL TIME FAVORITE BOOKS from the past 3 years.

Some books I get really excited about, only to look back later and have completely forgotten them. I kind of hate when that happens. But some stay close to my heart forever. So here are ten that I think have staying power to become part of my personal canon. I’m going with books I’ve read in the past three years, not necessarily that have been published, since I rarely pay attention to pub dates.

158190281. Daphne du Maurier- Rebecca

2. Helene Wecker- The Golem and the Jinni

3. Gillian Flynn- Gone Girl (there are a lot of divisive opinions about this novel, but to me the structure and style was revelatory.)

4. Kazuo Ishiguro- The Remains of the Day

5. Tana French- The Likeness (really, all of her books)

6. Adam Johnson- The Orphan Master’s Son

7. Rainbow Rowell- Fangirl (It was tough to pick, so I guess really all of them, but Cath is a protagonist after my own heart and some of the things Rowell says about writing really struck me.

8. Andrew Sean Greer- The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells

9. James McBride- The Good Lord Bird

10. Marissa Meyer- Cress (all the Lunar Chronicles- I really adore that series, but I have a soft spot for Cress and Thorne.)

What books get your votes today?

7 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Staying Power

  1. I didn’t put Gone Girl on my list, but now I wish I had. I’ve heard good things about The Golem and the Jinni. Here’s, my list.
    http://ebogie.blogspot.com

  2. I recently bought a copy of The Remains of the Day and can’t wait to get into it! You have so many good choices! My TTT: https://thewornbookmark.wordpress.com/2015/03/03/top-ten-books-i-read-in-the-last-3-years/

  3. I love your list – and it’s the second list with Rebecca which is one of my all time favourite books. I’ve had the Golem and the Jinni for a while – it’s sat waiting on my kindle, in fact that’s one of the downfalls of the kindle ‘out of sight out of mind!’
    Lynn 😀

    • hlmorris85

      For whatever it’s worth, I HIGHLY recommend the Golem & the Jinni. It’s very…it’s very romantic without being a romance, if that makes sense, and I love how it brings different cultures and magic together.

  4. I read Broken Harbor in 2012, and it’s been my favorite of hers out of the ones published in the last three years (I read all the others before 2012). I really have to get around to reading The Orphan Master’s Son…I have a copy and have read the first few pages, but I cannot seem to commit.

    • hlmorris85

      I love Broken Harbor. I really have trouble picking a favorite book of hers, honestly. I just went with The Likeness cause it was the first I read 🙂

  5. Awesome list! Fangirl is one of my favorites as well. I really want to check out more of Rainbow’s books! Have a great week. 🙂
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

Leave a Reply

