Review: Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

12851538Title: Code Name Verity

Author: Elizabeth Wein

Rating: 5 stars

Since I had little success with my last book for the TBR Pile Challenge, I decided this month to try the other World War II book on my list, Code Name Verity. And what a difference.

Code Name Verity is one of those buzz books. I feel like everyone’s probably heard of it. And going in I definitely had a preconception of what it was about…but I have no idea where that actually came from, because it seems to be a book that people praise without really talking about.

It’s hard to talk about too deeply without giving away what makes it so great. I could care less about spoilers, usually, but in this case I’m treading carefully because certain knowledge could actually ruin this reading experience.

Basically, Code Name Verity is, besides a pulse-pounding adventure story, a love-letter to best-friendship. It completely wrecked me, in all the best ways.

The characterization is incredible and so layered. And the plotting is meticulously crafted. There are little “Easter egg” type things through the book that as a reader make you know something weird is going on…and then it wonderfully slots into place. I think I was even more impressed as a writer than as a reader, because these are the kind of skills I want to have for my own writing and I’m kind of in awe of them.

Code Name Verity also firmly pulled me out of my YA slump, although, ironically, I don’t feel that this book is particularly YA. That’s just a matter of opinion. But in any case. This and my other five-star book so far this year have both been YA, so slump over!

Once I can fully breathe after the gut-punch that was this book, I’m off to scoop up the “companion” piece, Rose Under Fire. And for next month, I think I have to pick something completely different, and definitely take a break from historical fiction for a while.

4 Comments

Filed under Book Review

4 responses to “Review: Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

  1. Pingback: The TBR Pile Challenge | The Bastard Title

  2. I’ve heard great things about this book–I really need to give it a try.

    >There are little “Easter egg” type things through the book that as a reader make you know something weird is going on…and then it wonderfully slots into place.

    That sounds like such fun–I like this kind of writing.

    • hlmorris85

      I especially liked that it was subtly done. Every once in a while during the first part of the book I would get this little tingle of “wait, that doesn’t make sense.” and then I hit part two and suddenly it all came together magnificently.

  3. I loved this book. I keep meaning to read her other novel, I can’t remember it’s full title but it mentions a rose.

Leave a Reply

