Top Ten Tuesday: Spring TBR

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR List.

This topic is a curse. I choose TBR lists and then I almost never read anything on them. (Though I managed four from my winter list, a personal best!) But we’ll give it a go, if only to see what I won’t be reading this spring.

188738231. Kazuo Ishiguro- The Buried Giant I always love reading Ishiguro, even though I’m annoyed that he seems to have denied that this is a fantasy novel, when it very clearly is.

2. Max Gladstone- Two Serpents Rise I’ve loved the readalong of Three Parts Dead and I want to continue in the world.

3. Elizabeth Wein- Rose Under Fire Code Name Verity wrecked me. I need my heart torn into even more tiny pieces, please.

4. Robin LaFevers- Dark Triumph Finally following up on a series I’ve been putting on hold for a while.

5. Holly Black- The Darkest Part of the Forest I want to read more Black after The Coldest Girl in Coldtown

6. Jim C. Hines- Codex Born This is another series I’ve been procrastinating on.

7. Maggie Stiefvater- The Raven Boys I promise (maybe) that I’m really going to read it this time.

8. Ann Leckie- Ancillary Sword I think I’m finally ready to tackle this.

9. Dan Jones- The Plantagenets: The Warrior Kings and Queens Who Made England So far I’ve been sticking to my goal of reading at least one nonfiction book a month, and I want to add this to the tally.

10. Mary Robinette Kowal- Of Noble Family What do you mean, it isn’t April yet? Hmm….maybe I’ll have time to reread the whole series if I plan well enough.

9 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Spring TBR

  1. My problem is that any list I create today could be forgotten by next week!

    Too many good books out there to read!

  2. I’d always wanted to read something by Ishiguro, but was never sure what genre his books were in. Glad you like them, even if he won’t admit that one was fantasy! I’ve heard such good things about “Code Name Verity” – hope you do end up reading “Rose Under Fire” and enjoy it.

    • hlmorris85

      He’s generally considered “literary” although one of his books, Never Let Me Go, has scifi tinges. But it really bugs me when “literary” authors write genre and then continue to knock genre as inferior. The Buried Giant has (to my understanding from reading reviews) dragons and trolls and magic…it is flat out fantasy.

  3. Great list! The Raven Boys made my list, too, and I desperately need to cross Code Name Verity off my TBR. I hope you enjoy Dark Triumph – I know I did! 🙂

    • hlmorris85

      I’m still kind of on the fence with my feelings about Grave Mercy, but I’ve heard Dark Triumph is much better, so I decided to keep going with the series.

  4. The Darkest Part of the Forest was great. Completely and utterly Holly Black. I still like Coldest Girl in Coldtown better, however. And Raven Boys was great, too. Maggie Stiefvater is unfairly talented.

    • hlmorris85

      Black’s a fairly new-to-me author. I think I’ll enjoy the new one and then hopefully I’ll be able to go to her backlist for more.

  5. A great list. I’ve just picked up a copy of Holly Black and I’m really looking forward to it. Currently reading Three Parts Dead by Max Gladstone and I’m really enjoying it.
    Lynn 😀

  6. Rose Under Fire is a tough read but very worth it. I want to read Ishiguro’s new novel too.

Leave a Reply

