Top Ten Tuesday: Fresh Books

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Ten Books You Recently Added To Your To-Be-Read List.

 

227296641. Elizabeth Wein- Black Dove, White Raven

Code Name Verity just blew me away and then I saw the synopsis of this book and I was just like…now. Gimme now.

2. Holly Black- The Darkest Part of the Forest

Likewise, I added this one to my TBR the second I finished The Coldest Girl in Coldtown cause holy crap.

3. Y.S. Lee- A Spy in the House

A new-to-me author, I found this title on a list of feminist fiction if I remember correctly and it sounded great.

4. Brett M. Rogers- Classical Traditions in Science Fiction

Found through an excerpt/essay about religion in Battlestar Galactica. How could I not add it to the list?

228897665. Nele Neuhaus- The Ice Queen

I need a new crime series, and ones that lead back to World War II and Nazi crimes always catch my interest for some reason.

6. Ken Liu- The Grace of Kings

This one’s a no-brainer.

7. Rob Dunn- The Man Who Touched His Own Heart

I obviously have a very personal interest in heart surgery, and this history is either going to fascinate me or reduce me to a panic-attack-puddle. We’ll see.

8. Roxane Gay- An Untamed State

I really, really, really still need to read Bad Feminist, but I am also interested in reading this novel.

9. Rashad Harrison- The Abduction of Smith and Smith

A former slave and his former master’s son are shanghaied. This sounds all kinds of interesting.

10. Kate Bolick- Spinster: Making a Life of One’s Own

Someone close to me recently called me a spinster, and I almost hit him, because he definitely meant it derogatorily. I have a feeling this is a book I will be pushing on everyone soon.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Fresh Books

  1. I’ve read all three of the Nele Neuhaus novels that have translated into English and really enjoyed them. I think you will, too. You may want to start with Snow White Must Die, the first novel to be published in America. It’s a good starting point, even if it’s the sixth book in the series.

    • hlmorris85

      I’ve heard of Snow White Must Die but I hadn’t yet made the connection in my brain that they were in a series. Thanks for the heads up.

  2. christine danielle

    Spinster looks intersting bsed from the blurb and cover.
    My Top Ten Tuesday

  3. What a very original list. I also have the Holly Black waiting to be read.
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

