Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Won’t Read

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read. Because let’s face it, you can never read them all.

250748501. Paradise Lost by John Milton. I’ve tried to read Paradise Lost at least three times. I can never make it.

2. The Martian by Andy Weir. This book has great reviews, and I gave it a go for a few pages, but I just really wasn’t feeling it and I don’t know if I’ll ever go back.

3. Twilight, etc. Dear God in Heaven, absolutely not. Although I will admit to liking the soundtracks to the movies (which I have never, and will never, watched).

4. Fifty Shades of Grey, etc. See above. Add to that the fact that I work in a public library; seriously, the copies of these books that I’ve had to handle make me wish desperately for rubber gloves.

5. Anything written by Nicholas Sparks. Nicholas Sparks is just a vile, gross person who disdains the core audience that makes him millions of dollars. His books are sentimental trash. I will not ever pick one up.

6. Anything written by James Patterson. Patterson actually seems like a pretty cool guy and people really love his books. But he (and his ghostwriters) just writes so damn many of them. (Again: public library worker. JP has at least one adult fiction, nonfiction, young adult, or middle grade title out every month.) I wouldn’t have the faintest idea of where to start, nor do I want to get sucked into that kind of reading commitment.

7. The Girl in the Spider’s Web by David Lagercrantz. Look, I loved the Millennium Trilogy, flaws notwithstanding. If Steig Larsson was still alive I would be eating those books up like ice cream every year or two. But he’s not alive. The series actually ended on a fairly fitting note. I have no desire to see Lisbeth Salander again, as much as I loved her. It reeks of desperation to eek every last penny out of this series. Not for me.

8. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I mean, I already know how it ends.

9. A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett. This is a weird case: the 90s movie version is one of my favorite movies ever, and The Secret Garden is one of my favorite books (and I love the movie too!), but somehow when I was young I missed out on actually reading A Little Princess and I can’t really think of a way to revisit it without a time machine to make me 9 again.

10. Harry Potter. Sorry, Harry, I’m too old for you. (I was too old when I was 11. I never understood the whole Harry Potter thing–still don’t.)

8 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Won’t Read

  1. bendingoverbookwards

    I can see why you would avoid Fifty Shades haha. James Patterson has so, SO many books, surely if he keeps going the probability is that you’ll end up picking one up accidentally. Or, more likely, you’ll pick up a book written by one of his ghost writers. Does that count? 🙂

    • hlmorris85

      Well, it’s hard to pick one up accidentally when his name takes up half the cover 😉 Honestly, the books are not my thing, but he donates a lot of books and money to schools and his ghost writers are now getting “co-writing”/almost equal credit, so that all seems pretty cool.

  2. Fifty Shades of Grey is on my list too, as is Twilight (although I do like the movie soundtrack, why do the worst movies always have the best soundtracks?!) You should definitely steer clear of TFIOS, it sucks. I love Harry Potter, I grew up with those books, but I completely accept that they’re not for everyone.

  3. I have never read James Patterson but I see so many books by him that I don’t think I could ever read them. I did read Twilight but I can’t remember much about it. I love Harry Potter though but I know it is not for everyone.

    Tina, The Bookworm

    • hlmorris85

      Honestly I feel like I HAVE read Twilight, since I know so freaking much about it and there was that period a few years ago where it popped up every way you turned. But a small sample was enough for me to know I never wanted to pick it up- just terrible writing.

  4. 3,4,& 5 are on my list as well. I read Harry Potter when I was a kid but my husband never did so we started the audiobooks in the car and I think he’s getting bored haha! BUT he’s nearly 30 so…I understand being too old for them.

Leave a Reply

