Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Want to Meet

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Ten Authors I REALLY Want To Meet.

The correct answer to this is: none. I do not do well with meeting my heroes. In fact, meeting regular, everyday strangers, something I am spectacularly un-good at? A cake walk compared to meeting someone I admire. But, if I was a normally social person, capable of articulating actual human words in the presence of people I admire? Then these are the people I’d love to meet.

1. Lynn Flewelling- she’s been one of my favorite writers since I was sixteen, and just seems like an all-around nice person.

2. N.K. Jemisin- I am obsessed with the worlds she creates.

3. John Scalzi- I was at a reading of his last year but I missed my chance at the signing line. But he is the guest of honor at a con I’m going to later this month, so perhaps I will get another chance.

4. Dan Chaon- my college writing professor was always talking about how great Dan Chaon is, to the point where I feel like I’ve already met him.

5. Bill Bryson- Bill Bryson could talk about tax code and it would be hysterical. I’d love to meet him.

6. Tana French- I’m in awe of her writing style.

7. Rainbow Rowell- Rowell seems like such a fun person, probably 75% of which comes down to the fact that her name is Rainbow.

8. David Mitchell- teach me how to use words, please.

9. Courtney Milan- and then I would completely geek out.

10. Margaret Atwood- and then I would be struck dead.

 

10 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

10 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Want to Meet

  1. I’ve got Scalzi on my list as well. I think it would be fascinating.

  2. christine danielle

    Not familiar with these authors but I hope you meet them one day. 🙂

    Top Ten Tuesday

  3. bendingoverbookwards

    YES to Margaret Atwood, I had her as well and I would likely be struck dead. David Mitchell is a really good choice as well, 🙂

    • hlmorris85

      I certainly would be at a loss for words with either of them, but then if I managed to get over it I would beg them to teach me the magic of how they write.

  4. Rainbow Rowell is the only one here that made my list, but YES. Completely agree that the name Rainbow is the most fun EVER – which might explain why I’ve decided we should be friends!
    Beth x
    http://www.thequietpeople.com

  5. Such a great list, Rainbow Rowell would be very fun to meet, I totally forgot her in my list!
    My TTT

  6. Margaret Atwood made my list this week too.

    Here’s a link to my TTT post for this week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2015/05/top-ten-tuesday-ten-authors-i-really.html

  7. rudejasper

    I have the same issue as you – no real desire to meet many authors because AWKWARD! I got around it by listing mostly dead authors with whom it would be easy to fill the awkward silences with questions about the time period they lived in:). However Bill Bryson is an inspired choice! And he was born and raised in Des Moines Iowa – how terrifying could he be? Okay still pretty terrifying….

  8. Such a great list! I can’t believe I DIDN’T put Flewelling on mine!

Leave a Reply

