Top Ten Tuesday: Beach Reads

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Ten Books I Plan To Have In My Beach Bag This Summer or Ten Books I Think Make Great Beach Reads.

Fotolia_14763784_M-1024x681

I miss Key West…

 

I’m not a huge beach reader. If I’m at the beach (which never happens often enough) or by the pool (which happens a little more often but still not often enough) I want to be swimming. Or at the very least sitting in the water with a margarita. Plus I’m really dependent on my glasses, so once they’re off, they’re off, and I’m blindly muddling around for the long haul; I don’t want to be groping around for glasses that then get wet and sandy. But in theory, beach reads should be fluffy and light, so here are some of my favorites of those.

1. The Mediator (Shadowland is number 1) by Meg Cabot. First, Meg Cabot books take like two minutes to read. Second, bright California sunshine. Third, hot cowboy ghost.

2. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. Landline is a Christmas book, Fangirl & E&P give me too many hard feels, but Attachments is just the right balance of slightly-creepy/slightly-adorable RomCom for a beach book.

3. Unclaimed by Courtney Milan. As much as I love every single thing Milan writes (and, oh, I do), this is the one I would pick for a fluffy read. Cause Mark Turner.

4. Moon Called by Patricia Briggs. I’m really due for a reread of the Mercy books one of these days. Can’t beat a fun UF at the beach.

5. I Know I Am, But What Are You? by Samantha Bee. I’m not a huge fan of celebrity memoirs/humor essays, but this collection is light, fast, and fun.

6. Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters by Ben H. Winters. Remember when every out-of-copyright classic under the sun was getting the mash-up treatment? Thank god that moment of insanity is over. However, this one made me laugh and also: beach. Sea Monsters. Ta da. I am so clever. Speaking of…

7. Maplecroft by Cherie Priest. I actually haven’t had a chance to read this one yet, but it is LIZZIE BORDEN AND LOVECRAFTIAN HORRORS FROM THE DEEP. Yes, please.

8. The Grace of Kings by Ken Liu. Every vacation-reads list (I’m officially changing it to vacation-reads halfway through the list and you can’t stop me) needs a big honking doorstop fantasy epic. This is the first book of that kind I’ve really wanted to read since A Dance With Dragons stomped on all my hopes and dreams a few years ago.

9. One Summer: America, 1927 by Bill Bryson. It’s summertime. You don’t want to overtax your brain, but maybe you still want to learn some stuff. Enter Bill Bryson, who always manages to teach you more than you ever thought you needed to know.

10. Stone Mattress by Margaret Atwood. This one is not fluffy. It is not particularly light or fun. But it is the latest Atwood I’ve read and it is pretty much a masterpiece; plus, short stories are good for vacation reads because you can digest them in little bites.

That was…hard. Oh well, I won’t be making it to the beach this summer anyway, so I won’t need to pack a book bag. But does anyone have light and fluffy book recs for me? Cause clearly I need some.

9 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Beach Reads

  1. bendingoverbookwards

    I had Rainbow Rowell as well- perfect beach reads! I’ve only read a few Bill Brysons but I loved the ones I have

  2. I’m with you on the not being much of a beach reader. And I miss Key West too! Such an awesome place! My TTT

    • hlmorris85

      It’s funny- both of my visits to Key West have been full of dramah and people in my group acting like massive jerks, and yet it is one of my favorite places in the world. Key lime pie. Covered in chocolate. On a stick. I am a woman of simple needs 🙂

  3. I too had a tough time coming up with titles. Probably because I couldn’t picture myself in a beach anytime soon. 😦

  4. Awesome list! I recommend The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy for a light read. Beach house and boys, what more could you ask for?

  5. I good few books on here that I want to read – particularly Grace of Kings and Maplecroft.
    Lynn 😀

  6. rudejasper

    Is it bad that as soon as I saw the words “hot cowboy ghost” that I immediately wanted to add it to my TBR? I’m on a Regency Romance roll at the moment and have been hearing all sorts of good things about Milan so added her to my list though apparently I chose the wrong book. I am currently really enjoying every thing Sarah MacLean has ever written if you’ve not given her a try yet.

    • hlmorris85

      Lol, there need to be many more books with hot cowboy ghosts. 🙂 There really is no wrong Milan book. Sarah MacLean is on my “too check out” list (I’m pretty new with romance authors), but right now I’m on a Tessa Dare kick which is distracting me from anyone else.

  7. Maplecroft, yes! That’s been on my TBR list for too long now, it’s time I finally get to it. Happy reading.

    My TTT: http://tsundokubooks.blogspot.com/2015/05/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-books-i-plan-to.html

Leave a Reply

