Top Ten Tuesday: Adapt Me

toptentuesday

My favorite Nightrunner fanart in the history of ever.

My favorite Nightrunner fanart in the history of ever.

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Books I’d Love To See As Movies/Tv Shows. I could make this list way longer than 10, ya’ll. But I’ll try to restrain myself

1. The Nightrunner Series by Lynn Flewelling. I would give my left arm to have Nightrunner movies or a miniseries (or at the very least, books 1 & 2). That’s only slightly hyperbole.

2. The Tamir Triad by Lynn Flewelling. Speaking of Ms. Flewelling…Nightrunner would indulge my need for hot boys making out, but the Tamir books could arguably have even better dramatic potential for adaption.

3. The Dublin Murder Squad by Tana French- Everyone loves a good police procedural. I feel like the Dublin Murder Squad books could be great material for a True Detective-style series, where each season focuses on new characters (although personally I think True Detective is overrated garbage)

4. Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones. A period piece set in the 1980s about bigamy in the African-American community, focusing on the relationship between two sisters, one who knows they’re related, the other who does not. Can you say drama? Kerry Washington was Gwendolyn, pretty please.

5. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. These would be SO MUCH FUN, you guys.

6. The Immortals series by Tamora Pierce- It’s a crime that TP has never been adapted. Make my eleven-year-old self very happy, Hollywood.

7. The Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs- I’ve said before that these books would be fantastic fodder for a TV show, and I stand by that.

8. The Dreamblood duology by N.K. Jemisin. The Inheritance books get more attention, but in terms of worldbuilding the Dreamblood books do it better for me. Plus I think it would be fucking revolutionary to have a fantasy epic on screen with nary a white person in sight (ok, there’s one. For like two seconds). But speaking of…

9. The Inheritance trilogy by N.K. Jemisin. COME ON, universe. Don’t we deserve nice things?

10. The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker. This one is basically my kryptonite; a period piece (costume drama!), fantasy-meets-real-world, swoony romance. It would be beautiful on the big screen.

9 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Adapt Me

  1. thereviewdiaries

    I can’t believe that no one has attempted to adapt any Tamora Pierce yet, I needs it, I needs it now! *grabby hands*
    My TTT

  2. The Lunar Chronicles are a very popular choice today! 🙂

    Check out my TTT.

  3. I’ve read none of these. Amazing.

  4. Oh yes, the Patricia Briggs books would make a great series and definitely one I’d watch.
    That fan art is awesome btw I love it.
    Lynn 😀

    • hlmorris85

      I wish I could find attribution for that other than the signature. I used to have a link but I don’t know where it went!

      Anyway, yes. Mercy would be great for Syfy or a network like that and I’d watch the heck out of it.

  5. Great list!! I have Mercy Thompson on my list this week. I would love to see it come to life. Thanks so much for sharing. Have a great week. Happy reading My TT

Leave a Reply

