Top Ten Tuesday: Summer TBR

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Books On My TBR For Summer 2015. As usual, this list could be entirely populated by books on my last TBR lists that I haven’t gotten to. But at least I have some of these actually checked out of the library and others sitting on my nook. I am determined to get through all of these by September…okay, maybe seventy percent of them.

233988241. A Study in Death– Anna Lee Huber [I really enjoy this series and always look forward to a new addition.]

2. Phantom– Jo Nesbo [I am soooooo close to finishing the Harry Hole series. Or at least, all the current books. I don’t know if there will be more.]

3. Two Serpents Rise– Max Gladstone [Finally, an ebook sale. Thank you, Tor! Now please drop Full Fathom Five a few dollars.]

4. Gretel and the Dark– Eliza Granville [a book in my “library drawer” to read at lunchtime: I have very little idea what it’s actually about, but something about the cover caught me.]

5. The Tropic of Serpents- Marie Brennan [I just discovered the Memoirs of Lady Trent and I am in love.]

6. Dark Triumph– Robin LaFevers [One of those sequels that’s been sitting around on my nook for a while. I will get to it. I will!]

7. The Grace of Kings– Ken Liu [As soon as it’s available at the library!]

8. The Mirror Empire– Kameron Hurley [I just read a short story by Hurley and it inspired me to work on the book which has been sitting around for a while.]

9. Ancillary Sword– Ann Leckie [oh look at that another sequel I’ve let drop by the wayside.]

10. Thud!- Terry Pratchett [I haven’t read Sir Terry for about a decade. It’s unfortunate that his death is what made me turn back to Discworld, but sometimes that’s how the world works.]

11 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

11 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Summer TBR

  1. I haven’t read any of these, but it looks like you have some fun summer reads ahead of you!

  2. It’s a shame that sir Terry is gone and we don’t have more DiscWorld to look forward to. But he left a huge library to enjoy, so that’s a good thing.

    • hlmorris85

      For various reasons (college, grad school, lots of moves), I haven’t picked up a Discworld book in about ten years. I’ve started reading Thud! as my poolside book, and I have a sneaking suspicion that I actually may have read it before. Oh well. It feels mostly brand new to me!

  3. There is one more Discworld book coming out in September to finish the Tiffany Aching storyline.

    • hlmorris85

      I thought I had heard something about his daughter also continuing the series after the September book? Sounds like something I could have made up, though…

  4. Great list. A couple on here that I’ve read – I really fancy reading Grace of Kings too.
    Lynn 😀

    • hlmorris85

      Summer makes me want epic fantasy. It doesn’t mean I have more *time* for it, but I want it. In addition to Grace of Kings I’m hoping to get to a lot of those fantasy authors that have been on my radar but ignored for some time.

  5. I’m listening to the audiobook of Dark Triumph and I’m sooo close to the end. I love it so much. I really struggle with historical fiction but I am loving this series so much. I definitely think you should make this a priority this summer. 🙂
    Great list! Hope you enjoy all the books you read this summer.

    • hlmorris85

      Yeah, Dark Triumph is a case of, the longer something sits on my ereader, the more likely I am to forget about it. Other things just keep working their way up the list ahead of it. But I am determined.

  6. I really want to read Marie Brennan. This looks like a really fun list of summer reads. I’m having trouble finishing series as well, which is why I’m trying not to start new ones – but keep doing it anyway. Enjoy your summer!

  7. I am very interested in reading the Anna Lee Huber’s Lady Darcy Mystery series. It looks so good! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

