Unpopular Opinions Tag

I recently saw this tag over at A Kernel of Nonsense. I don’t think I’ve ever done a tagged post on this blog, but I’ve been feeling kind of grumpy about my unpopular opinions lately, so this seemed perfect! All in good fun.

A book or series that everyone seemed to hate but you loved:

18295858

I can easily do the opposite of this, but this way ’round it’s difficult. Looking at my goodreads feed, it seems that Fr0g Music has a pretty low overall rating (3.12), but I loved it. The characters were frustrating, the writing was dark, and it just kind of resonated with me.

A love triangle that didn’t end the way you wanted it to:

I avoid love triangles like the plague. In fact, most series with love triangles I don’t even finish. In series that I have finished, I’m generally all in favor of the way the author goes (because you can almost always tell it from the beginning anyway–love triangles are cheap tension builders).

So. Um. Unpopular opinion being that I hate love triangles?

A book genre you hardly ever reach for:

New Adult. The single New Adult book I read knowingly was teeeeeeeeerible, and I know you shouldn’t judge an entire genre on one example, but honestly to me the entire genre seems to be a way to excuse bad writing and ridiculous plots. They don’t fit YA markets presumably because of sexual content and age of the protagonists, but really it’s because the writing is bad, and they don’t fit into mainstream adult fiction because, again, the writing is bad. 

A popular or beloved character you did not like:

7896527

Celaena Sardothien.

Ugh I hated Throne of Glass so damn much. I feel like I’m the only person in the world that did. But God. Celaena was the WORST. “I’m the greatest assassin the world has ever seen.” “I’m gonna stay awake all night pouting about boys and playing with a puppy, cause it’s not like my life is on the line here or anything.”

She was so annoying and not in a fun-to-read way, plus she was bad at her job. Her job that was the entire premise of the book! Should have left her in that damn salt mine.

A popular author you just can’t enjoy:

13578987

Leigh Bardugo. I gave Shadow and Bone a 3-star review initially, but it’s one of those books that’s really soured for me since I read it, mostly because people praise that series so. damn. much. and the more I think about it the more it grates on me. The writing was mediocre at best and I don’t understand the big deal.

A popular trope you’re tired of:

anigif_enhanced-11562-1432727076-6

The I’m-not-like-other-girls superiority of certain YA heroines. Female friendship is enormously important and valuable, and I feel like this trope teaches girls that to be exceptional they must be “the cool girl”– perfectly feminine and pretty and desirable to men, but also disdainful of that very femininity and constantly tearing other women down.

 

A popular series you have no interest in reading:

3

Harry Potter. *dodges projectiles*

A TV show/movie that was better than the book:

MV5BMTcxNDI2NDAzNl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODM3MTc2MjE@._V1_SX640_SY720_

I’m going to go with The Hunger Games series.

I know!

Look, I love those books, even though they ushered in the era of first-person-present-tense that I want to burn to the ground. But I really love the movies because they get us outside of Katniss’s head, and make the dystopian world of Panem feel a little bit less ridiculous and contrived. They give depth and space to the other characters that the books really lack. And I feel like the acting/costuming/design/score, all of it, really ties together well.

So, what are your unpopular bookish opinions? Feel free to join in the tag.

3 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

3 responses to “Unpopular Opinions Tag

  1. bendingoverbookwards

    I know what you mean about the ‘I’m-not-like-other-girls’ trope. It happens a lot in romances as well, when the male lead says it and you wonder what exactly he means…

    • hlmorris85

      Yeah, I feel like it’s kind of hard for me to articulate, but you know it when you see it (and I see it a LOT). Where women/girls in general are devalued by the narrative except in the singular case of the heroine. It’s just really a poisonous attitude, I think.

  2. I agree with you about Celaena. I had a hard time believing she’s a deadly assassin or that her time in the salt mines were harsh. I’ve read one new adult book so far and it was good — Unteachable by Leah Raeder.
    Harry Potter? Noo…lol.

Leave a Reply

