Top Ten Tuesday: Best of the Year (so far)

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2015.

I’ve had good luck with books so far this year. Looking at my Goodreads reviews, if I took all of my five and four star ratings into account I’d have many more than ten (current read total for this year as of this writing: 70 books. Eep.) So this is completely unscientific. It includes five star books, a few four stars, and a few books I liked that I didn’t put on Goodreads for one reason or another.

128136301. Holly Black- The Coldest Girl in Coldtown

Holy schmaow is this book good. It totally revitalized the vampire genre for me. (I probably shouldn’t say this as I am writing a vampire novel as we speak, but man have I been sick of vampires recently.) Coldtown is scary and visceral and just a really, really, really great read.

2. Mary Renault- The Persian Boy

I’ve been really into stories of the Bronze Age/Ancient Greece this year, and this book is probably 98% of the reason why. This story of Alexander the Great and his eunuch Bagoas is one of the most romantic things I have ever read.

3. Elizabeth Wein- Code Name Verity /Rose Under Fire 

Yes I’m counting them as one book to get more books on this list. Sue me. These WWII historicals punch a huge hole in my emotions. I’ve always felt sort of distant from WWII when I read about it before, but with these two novels it felt like I was right there, with all the pain that entails. They were wrenching but gorgeously written.

4. Emily St. John Mandel- Station Eleven

This book has no right to be so good. No right. It’s elegiac and wandering and there’s not much story beyond “The world ended. Let’s talk about Shakespeare.” And yet. It completely knocked me to my knees.

5. Jo Graham- Black Ships

More Bronze Age. More Ancient Greece, with bonus Egypt. Inspired by the Aenied, the story of the Sybil is evocative and enthralling. I loved the characters and the writings.

222940616. Charlotte Gordon- Romantic Outlaws

This in-depth biography of Mary Wollstonecraft and Mary Shelley is my favorite nonfiction read of the year so far. Absolutely fascinating, and a must-read for anyone interested in the Romantics, women in literature, and feminism in general.

7. Courtney Milan- Trade Me

Milan does a contemporary billionaire romance that skewers expectations. I already am pretty sure I’m going to like the sequels more (If I’m right about Adam…oh, I hope I’m right about Adam), but this was a great read.

8. Rufi Thorpe- The Girls From Corona Del Mar

I was in physical pain when I finished this book. It just really resonated with me on a deeply personal level.

9. Tessa Dare- Romancing the Duke/Say Yes to the Marquess

And now for some much-needed fluff. Tessa Dare is my new fave romance writer. Each book I like a little bit more (I’m starting now on her Spindle Cove books.) Say Yes to the Marquess features wooing-by-wedding-planning. Romancing the Duke features historical LARPing. So much fluff. SO MUCH FLUFF. They’re both super cute though of course the side characters are my favorites instead of the heroes (they always are. This is a problem with me and romance novels.)

10. Eliza Granville- Gretel and the Dark

Frustrating and intriguing and spooky and dark and beautiful all rolled into one.

So that’s January to June, 2015. I have a pretty good idea which of these will be sticking around until the end of the year, too.

What are your best reads so far?

 

6 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Best of the Year (so far)

  1. I loved Code Name Verity, but haven’t gotten around to Rose Under Fire yet … must to do!

    • hlmorris85

      Rose Under Fire is rough. Like, I didn’t things could get any rougher than Code Name Verity but then they did. But it is gorgeously written.

  2. I’ve got to read Code Name Verity and Station Eleven this year. I did read Mandel’s The Lola Quartet earlier this year and thought it was great–I can’t imagine how good Station Eleven is going to be.

    • hlmorris85

      I was going to stay away from Station Eleven, honestly, because sometimes I try to avoid buzz books. But it really just sucked me right in.

  3. Station Eleven made my list too. The Coldest Girl In Coldtown would have made mine if I hadn’t read it last year. 🙂

    Check out my TTT.

  4. Station Eleven was definitely <a href="one of my TTT as well – such an haunting and beautiful book. And I can’t wait to read The Coldest Girl in Coldtown!

Leave a Reply

