Full Fathom Five Read Along: Week Four

16148208

Well, we’ve come to the end of the road in our Full Fathom Five Read Along. I have to say, I really think this book has been my favorite of the series so far. I just really enjoyed the way everything resolved, the way the characters developed and interacted, and all the cool new bits of worldbuilding.

On to the questions!

1. So Jace was in fact responsible for the rogue Penitent, and for what was happening to the ‘idols’… And my guess last week regarding his reasons (that it was bad for business) wasn’t far off the mark… What did you make of his confrontation with Kai and his justifications?

Jace is out of his mind. It seems fairly obvious that the people who adhere most to the status quo in this world are the most dangerous, and the people who want to destroy everything in revolt are only runners-up in crazy. The whole time in his office with Kai I was like, run girl, run, but even then I didn’t expect him to shove her in a Penitent like that.

Don’t trust the quiet ones.

2. Mako’s involvement in the subsequent events was a bit of a surprise. Or was it? Did you expect the old man to be involved at all, much less the way he was?

Mako’s identity and involvement were a complete mystery to me until the moment they weren’t. I didn’t pay much attention to Mako, really, until there was one little moment in the text where I stopped and was like. “Wait. He isn’t–? Is he–? Oh, duh, OF COURSE HE IS.” It was really well done by Gladstone, I thought, a very natural feeling development that rewarded the reader instead of making them feel dumb.

3. Izza steals a goddess! What are your thoughts on the way her story ends (or begins, as the case may be)?

I really, really loved the way Izza’s story resolved. Really the way all the characters resolved: seeing finally how Cat and Teo fit into the puzzle, how Kai came to terms with things. At first I was dubious with having a teenage MC, but it worked really well with the way she grew up over the course of the book.

4. We leave the story with Kavekana “waiting for the world to come”… Do you think this particular ending is for the best, or would you have preferred to see the island remain apart, and peaceful?

It’s ambiguous and messy and absolutely the right ending. Idylls like Kavekana are all surface and paper-thin, and you can’t sustain that over the long run. It’s not going to be an easy road for their society, but it’s the only road forward. I feel like Gladstone has set up this world where in the very recent past everything was shaped by the gods, and now everything is controlled by commerce/The Deathless Kings/secularism, and in both cases humans get stuck in the middle, and he’s saying that they have to forge their own paths as much as possible.

Thanks to everyone who hosted/joined in on this read along. It was lots of fun! I’m not sure of the next one I’ll be able to participate in, or when I’ll actually be able to get to the next Craft Sequence book, Last First Snow (The TBR. It is so huge. It is crushing me.), but I thoroughly enjoyed this one 😀

2 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

2 responses to “Full Fathom Five Read Along: Week Four

  1. tethyanbooks

    I did not expect her to get stuffed into a Penitent either! I hadn’t even guessed that the killer Penitent had Mara inside.

    • hlmorris85

      I feel like I really should have seen it coming. I managed to completely forget about all the statues Gladstone explicitly stated that Jace had in his office. It was great though…I was so sufficiently terrified of the Penitents already that when it happened I gave a little shriek.

Leave a Reply

