Top Ten Tuesday: Shut Up and Take My Money

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Auto-buy Authors.

The only thing that most of these writers have in common is that their books make me happy. Once an author makes my auto-buy list, they’re there until I stop trusting them; I don’t even need plot summaries to plop down the cash. Authors *have* been booted from the list in the past, but these have pretty stable for the past two or three years (Tessa Dare is the newest author that I’ve read and fallen in love with on this list).

1. David Mitchell

2. Tana French

3. N. K. Jemisin

4. Courtney Milan

5. Rainbow Rowell

6. Gillian Flynn

7. Tessa Dare

8. Mary Robinette Kowal

9. Elizabeth Hoyt

10. Karen Russell

9 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Shut Up and Take My Money

  1. Rainbow Rowell made my list! Tessa Dare probably should’ve. I just recently started reading historical romance – she was my first – and I love her books. I just haven’t read all of them yet. (But will. So very soon.)

    My TTT!

    • hlmorris85

      I still have two or three Dare books on the backburner, but I absolutely love every one I’ve read, so I know I will buy her future releases as well.

  2. I haven’t read ANY of these, despite the fact that I’ve got a Tana French in the wings, N.K. Jemisin out from the library and Cloud Atlas on my Kindle. It’ll happen one of these days.

    • hlmorris85

      All excellent writers. I’d recommend one or the other–but I think it kind of depends on what genre you’re feeling at the moment. Stellar mystery, superb fantasy, or mind-bendy literary weirdness.

  3. I love Courtney Milan and Tessa Dare!! My TTT

  4. I am surprised I have not seen Gillian Flynn on more lists. She is a great one, along with Tana French. Great list!

    • hlmorris85

      maybe because she hasn’t written many books, relatively speaking? All I know is that, pretty much the second I finished Gone Girl I went out and bought her other two books, and I eagerly await whatever she does next!

  5. Flynn goes without saying! Great list!

    Check out my TTT and my current giveaway which ends tonight at midnight.

Leave a Reply

