Top Ten Tuesday: It’s Not Me, It’s You

 

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Ten Characters You Just Didn’t Click With.

JAMMF01-620x320

1. Jamie Fraser- Outlander

Oh Jamie Fraser, I expected more from you.

I wanted to like him. Look, I am shallow. I fully embrace my shallowness. So yes, hot Scot? Bring it.

But the book version of Jamie was really kind of disturbing to me. Who is this wife-beater and what happened to the charming, romantic hero?

2. Corin and Tam- Moth & Spark

I wanted to like this book, but I couldn’t even make it halfway through. These characters were as boring as a blank page, and I’m pretty sure the hadn’t even met by the time I stopped reading but would still have had zero chemistry.

3. Calliope Reaper-Jones- Death’s Daughter

This is less a character I “didn’t click with” and more a character who would “incite me to homicide,” but nonetheless. This incarnation of, well…Death’s daughter, was one of the most actively vile narrative voices I have had the displeasure of reading.

4. Adelice- Crewel

A character who is so perfectly, naturally talented that she has to “pretend” to be a clumsy loser to save her family in a totally contrived dystopian world. And of course two boys are in love with her. And of course she’s the only person who can stop…well, whatever the conspiracy was. Yet I couldn’t tell you a single one of her “memorable” traits.

5. Yelena- Poison Study

Another perfectly amazing and talented YA heroine who is blander than paste and doesn’t ever seem to do anything to live up to her reputation.

6. Alina Starkov- Shadow and Bone

Oh, and Alina makes three. Some YA heroines are just really boring to me, I guess.

7. Harry Dresden- Storm Front/Fool Moon

I gave Harry Dresden two tries, but he just didn’t appeal to me. I gave the books decent reviews at the time, but I didn’t keep up with them and it’s probably because I didn’t feel much of anything for the main character.

8. Nina Borg- The Boy in the Suitcase

Looking for a new crime/thriller series, I came across Lene Kaaberbol’s Nina Borg. There was nothing bad about this book, really, but I just never connected with the character and didn’t stick with her.

9. Gale Hawthorne- The Hunger Games

Perhaps I am rewriting my reading history with my experience of the movies. Liam Hemsworth’s Gale is just so…boring. But really, what purpose does Gale serve in these books outside of the love triangle? I’m sure I’d be Team Peeta with or without him.

10. Dana- Kindred

Everyone loves Kindred, but I was disappointed by it. So much so that I’ve never read anything else by Butler. I thought the writing was weak and I did not like or empathize with the main character at all.

Boy, this is kind of a downer of a post, huh?

12 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

12 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: It’s Not Me, It’s You

  1. Nattie

    Gale was never my favourite either, although I totally forgot about him when I was making my list. He just didn’t do anything. He was barely even there the first two books anyways. He’s just THERE. Love you other picks too! Great list!

    Nattie @ Book Rambles – here’s my Top Ten :3

  2. Ohh Harry Dresden! I honestly think the series gets better from about the fourth book on but I never really disliked him.

    • hlmorris85

      I can’t even put my finger on specifically why, but I just never really cared about him. But I’m also out of patience with waiting through x number of books for a series to take off. Get me on the first book or I’m out.

      • This is true. I only bought #2-#12 because they were selling them off for £1 each so HAD to buy and therefore read them 😛 Somewhere along the line I got sucked in!

  3. Oh no! I’m about to start Outlander, and I sure don’t like wife-beaters. 😦

    • hlmorris85

      It was really upsetting for me. Mainly because he spends SO MUCH TIME justifying and explaining it away and in the end Claire’s like “Hmm. Ok. You were totally justified in beating me all night long.”. I definitely had a preconceived notion of who Jamie was before I started reading the book but then I got to that point and I was like “This? This is straight up abuse, right here, emotional and physical.” What’s odd is that it didn’t bother me nearly so much in the TV series, perhaps because I felt like the book just dwelled in it so much.

      I don’t know. A ton of people love the series and I’m sure it doesn’t cross lines for all of them, but for me it made me very uncomfortable.

  4. LHauser27

    Hi! I agree that Gale serves little purpose outside the love triangle, but I still love him 🙂 Peeta was not a strong enough male for me. And i agree, a little bit of a downer. Do I want to read the other books on your list that I haven’t already read??? 🙂

    • hlmorris85

      Well I think that’s the point of Peeta though. Katniss has a lot of aggressive, traditionally “masculine” character traits, and she needs Peeta In her life to balance her out.

      Anyway I guess I wish we could have seen a little more of Gale outside of the “but which one will she CHOOSE???” role. Got a little bit of that in Mockingjay, but not enough to make him really interesting to me.

  5. I feel you when it comes to Jamie.

    Check out my TTT.

Leave a Reply

