Top Ten Tuesday: Picture Books

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is a FREEBIE — your choice!

I process all of the children’s and YA books at my library. With so many books coming across my desk, I get a chance to look through all the beautiful picture books and fall in love with them. Most of my friends have kids in the infant/toddler stage…so I am getting pretty familiar with building libraries for pre-reading kiddies.

So this week, here are some of my favorite picture books! Many of them are books that have come across my desk very recently, but some are books that I loved way back when I was a kid, too.

16250904

1. Bob Shea- Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great

Sparkly Unicorn + Grumpy Goat = Magic. I really like Shea’s illustration style, and this book is all sparkles and color and cuteness overload.

15953630

2. Yuyi Morales- Nino Wrestles the World

Lucha libre! This feisty luchadore can defeat any threat, except his nemeses, Las Hermanitas!

23602669

3. Susan Eaddy- Poppy’s Best Paper

When Poppy grows up she wants to be a famous writer. So how come her best friend is the one who’s papers are being read aloud in class? This book (with freaking adorable illustrations) is a really great exploration of jealousy, procrastination, and other not-great behavior, and even though I’m thirty I kindasorta identified with it?

13337050

4. Adam Rubin- Dragons Love Tacos

Everyone loves dragons. Everyone loves tacos. But make sure you don’t give your dragons spicy salsa, okay?

 

24795870

5. Joe McGee- Peanut Butter and Brains

zomg, adorable zombies. This is about a little zombie who dares to be different, and dreams of one day tasting that culinary delight, PB&J. It is so. Stinkin. Cute.

189182

6. Marjorie Flack- The Story About Ping

A bunch of oversensitive grumps on Goodreads are whining about Ping promoting spanking. Please. It’s a cute book about a cute little duck and a boat with a face. I loved this when I was little, and I still do.

317862

7. Verna Aardema- Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain

I have always loved this book for the colorful illustrations of African animals.

2266474

8. Polly Cameron- “I Can’t,” Said the Ant

The line illustrations are simple and very retro. I’m having trouble finding this book still in print. It was absolutely my favorite book ever when I was small and I wish I could find it to share with new generations.

17290220

9. Andrea Beaty- Rosie Revere, Engineer

This is a book about experiencing failure but not quitting. Full of clever rhymes and whimsical inventions.

 

17841538

10. The BabyLit board books

These board books are introductions to classic literature for pre-literate children. They range from counting primers to Spanish language primers, and they are completely adorable. BabyLit will probably bankrupt me, honestly, because I buy them for everyone. (For what it’s worth, among the toddler set in my circles, it seems that Jabberwocky is the hands-down favorite.)

6 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Picture Books

  1. Hi! I love picture books. Still! 🙂 Stellaluna and Corduroy are two of my favorites. And a book called If. My TTT

  2. There’s nothing like a good picture book! I always loved one called The Princess and the Dragon by Audrey Wood when I was little. Probably explains why I love fantasy fiction!

    My TTT

  3. oh yay! I love picture books! Must save this list for gift ideas for my nephew who just turned 4 months old 🙂 My TTT

  4. Cute topic! I love looking at the BabyLit books. Have you seen the Jane Eyre one? 🙂

    Check out my TTT.

Leave a Reply

