Top Ten Tuesday: I Wish I Knew How to Quit You

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Ten Bookish Things I Want to Quit Or Have Quit.

Be freeeeeeee. (aka I needed a graphic for this post and was out of ideas.)

Be freeeeeeee. (aka I needed a graphic for this post and was out of ideas.)

1 I wish I could quit…feeling like I’m so far behind on my reading because I can’t keep up with what everyone is talking about.

I want to read books for me, not to keep up with trends. I’m too old to worry about that shit. But it’s easy to feel buried in all the awesome new releases and feel like you have to read everysinglethingrightnow.

2 I wish I could quit…reading historical fiction novels that I enjoy in the moment but then ultimately become forgettable.

I read a lot of historical fiction. I always have. But recently it feels like a lot of those books leave me feeling…hollow. Like, they’re good for the time I’m reading them, but then I immediately forget them. They don’t stick. I think I need to read more nonfiction rather than these pointless, lightweight books.

3 I wish I could quit…buying books that I don’t have time to read.

Kind of tied to number 1. I have so many books crowding up the shelves, and then I start to feel guilty about not reading them, and then the guilt compounds.

4 I wish I could quit…reading when I want to be writing.

I have been trying to grow in my writing the past few years, and honestly it can be kind of scary and feel kind of fruitless. I’ve been going back and forth between larger projects, but a lot of times, instead of sitting down and getting my hands dirty and working through a problem, I give up and go read. I tell myself I’m doing research or giving my brain a break…but then a whole weekend afternoon, and all of its writing time, is gone.

5 I wish I could quit…more books that I don’t like.

Over the past year I’ve gotten much better at DNFing, but I still get to the end of too many books with a vague feeling that my life would be better if I had just stopped reading.

6 I wish I could quit…buying physical books.

I’m hoping to move within the next year, and it’s already giving me hives. Because: BOOKS. I have six bookshelves. They are all out of space. Most are, in fact, double-packed. I prune my collection at least once a month, yet it keeps growing. And growing. And growing. I want to switch a lot more of my books to my ereader, but that takes money I don’t have. And of course there are so many I just can’t give up the physical book for a screen.

7 I have quit…sticking it out to the end of the series.

There are too many books and too little time. If a series doesn’t catch me in it’s first installment, I’m not going to read any more. I don’t care if it becomes amazing in the second book.

8 I have quit…reading books about circuses.

I’ve read a lot of books about circuses, and I ALWAYS hate them. Like, universally, across-the-board. I don’t know why. I don’t care why. I finally put the moratorium into place: if the synopsis so much as mentions a circus, a sideshow, a fair…I’m out.

I have (mostly) quit…reading white men.

Look, there are plenty of good white, male authors. But I’ve gotten really fed up with some, even those who used to be my favorites. The pretentious MFA literati. The genre-trashers (and genre-stealers). The whitesplainers and the mansplainers. I have never picked up or avoided an author based solely on their gender or race–it comes down to the book, always–but I’m making a concerted effort to read many other authors. And avoid white men for a while, cause I’m tired of the bullshit, the trembling fear and insecurity from the top of ivory tower. We’ll see how I managed at the end of the year when I tally up my reading statistics, and then maybe I’ll be able to make a more realistic goal.

10 I have quit…loaning books.

Sorry kids. I have lost way too many books because I loan them to people and then, hey presto, never get them back. Or even worse- get them back with broken spines. I will literally buy you a book rather than loan my copy if I think it’s something you need to read right this second. Bad for my bank account, but good for my sanity.

11 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

11 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: I Wish I Knew How to Quit You

  1. Hi! #1 and 3 describe me! 🙂 Great list!
    My TTT
    Leslie

  2. I agree with not finishing books. I feel like it’s a waste of time to force yourself to finish a book you don’t enjoy. I’d rather stop reading it entirely. Here’s my TTT: http://wp.me/p6Erc0-2M

  3. I definitely need to stop loaning books. I love recommending books to friends, but I’ve had too many come back in bad condition, or just never come back at all. Great list! Happy reading!

    • hlmorris85

      The way some people treat their books makes me cringe. Even my mom–whom I love and adore–breaks every. single. spine. Drives me bonkers. So yes, my lending library is closed for business.

  4. I found I agreed with most of your list. The historical novel point is interesting. I love really good historical fiction but often it’s not so good — I think historical writers either put the history too far above good writing and good story. The characters are often really lacking. But there is some good historical fiction out there! Also interesting point about quitting white males. I know I read plenty of female authors, but I’m so-so on race/ethnic diversity.

    • hlmorris85

      Yeah, there’s nothing really *wrong* with the historical fiction books I’m reading. I think I’ve just gotten to a point where they don’t stick with me as much–I can’t say there’s any particular historical fiction author who’s an autobuy for me, for instance–so maybe it’s time for me to try some new genres for a while.

  5. yep – #10 – I’m extremely stingy with my personal library too! My TTT

  6. Brandi @ Brandi Janee's Bookshelf

    I agree with a lot of these! Great list!
    My TTT</a

Leave a Reply

