Top Ten Tuesday: Vampires

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is a Halloween themed freebie.

I love Halloween. It’s probably my all-time favorite holiday. And I am kind-of-sort-of-maybe-in-the-process-of writing a vampire novel. I mean. I am. It’s pretty atrociously bad right now, but I should probably just own up to it, right? I am working on a vampire novel.

SO. Weird obfuscations and silliness aside, here is my vampire reading list for said novel. For inspiration and tropes and all that fun stuff, although of course I hope the style and plot is all my own.

BuffyTheVampireSlayer13

Books I’ve read

1. Bram Stoker- Dracula

I have complicated feelings about the father of all vampire novels. Basically, I respect it as a literary touchstone, but when it comes to the actual book I find it…well, really boring. I think I need to see how I feel about it now that I’m not in high school any longer.

2. Holly Black- The Coldest Girl in Coldtown

I love this book. Have I mentioned that I love this book? Because I love this book. It’s scary and visceral and wonderfully character-driven.

3.  Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu- Carmilla

I read this story basically every year. Every time I get something new out of it.

4. John Joseph Adams, ed.- By Blood We Live

There are a lot of great stories by a lot of different style of authors in this collection.

5. Justin Cronin- The Passage, The Twelve

I need the conclusion to this trilogy. It’s such a unique spin on the vampire mythos, and I really enjoy it.

tumblr_lrbyqnNlwn1qiw8mno1_500

Books I’ve yet to read

6. John Ajvide Lindqvist- Let the Right One In

I just recently saw Let Me In, and I adored it. It is so fucking scary and beautiful. I’ve yet to see the original version of the film, but it’s on my list. And I had no idea until recently that it was all based on a book…which now I have to read.

7. John William Polidori- The Vampyre

Polidori is probably the biggest omission in my knowledge of classical vampires. I know so much about this story, about it’s creation and it’s influence on Stoker, and yet I’ve never read it. So I need to rectify that.

8. Octavia Butler- Fledgling

The last time I read Butler we didn’t get on so well. I really just found her style awkward and highly overrated, which in some circles of SF is dangerous to say out loud because it’s akin to sacrilege. But, I’m willing to give this a try. Maybe I’ll like it better?

9.  Michael West, ed.- Vampires Don’t Sparkle!

Another story anthology; I love the title’s cheeky allusion to a certain series which I will not touch with a twenty foot pole.

10. Deborah Harkness- A Discovery of Witches

I understand that this is witches and vampires? I’m interested to see what it’s like.

giphy

I have read many, many (many, many) bad vampire novels in my day. And I’m not particularly looking to go in a paranormal romance/typical UF direction, or read them either, which leaves out a lot of the long series. But! Recommend me some vampire novels, folks. Help me fill this list out!

Oh hey, and if you have nonfiction recs about vampires, throw those at me too. I have a pretty basic encyclopedia type reference on vamps, but I’d love to check out more substantial nonfiction on the subject.

 

15 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

15 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Vampires

  1. I haven’t read any of those!

  2. Sorry, I can’t help with any recommendations but thank you for giving me some. I haven’t heard of a few of these, like Polidori’s The Vampyre. It sounds familiar though, his name.
    Here’s my TTT list.

  3. Nicole Groshek

    Oooh you have a few of the same picks as me! Good taste! 😉 Also, THANK YOU for reminding me of Octavia Butler!!! In college I had to take a weirdly specific class on African American science fiction literature from a specific time period, and we read her Patternmaster series. I was just explaining it to a friend over the weekend and could not for the life of me remember what the books were called or who the author was. Thanks!

    Here’s my list of scary reads! http://nikolieolieoh.com/2015/10/27/top-ten-tuesday-the-scariest-books-ive-ever-read/

  4. I read The Passage by Justin Cronin, and liked it, but for some reason just haven’t had any desire to go on to The Twelve.

    Love the Spike gifs!

    My TTT

    • hlmorris85

      They’re very long and the conclusion to the books is a looooooooong time in coming (seriously, I’m pretty sure it was due out last year and is now scheduled for at least another year), so I can understand that. Getting a little frustrated about it myself 🙂

  5. Yes, you should definitely read A Discovery of Witches! There are witches and vampires. Diana (witch) and Matthew (vampire) are the two main characters. So good. My TTT

  6. I definitely want to read Let the Right One In and A Discovery of Witches. I feel like I haven’t read a vampire novel in ages! (Except those in The Dresden Files).

    My TTT – Top Ten… Homicidal Inanimate Objects

  7. Great list. I think ‘Salem’s Lot by Stephen King is my favorite vampire novel.

  8. I had to leave a comment, simply because of the Buffy gifs! Who doesn’t love buffy gifs? And such fitting ones at that!
    And the list you made here is fantastic as well.

    My TTT: http://booksbeautifylife.blogspot.de/2015/10/top-10-tuesday-heart-racing-thriller.html

  9. I’ve not read many of the books you mentioned but I definitely have a few of them on my TBR pile. I just had to say that I love that gif of Spike though 🙂

  10. Vampires Don’t Sparkle! sounds great 😛 You should read The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova, it is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

