Top Ten Tuesday: Gimme More

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Debut Authors Who Have Me Looking Forward To Their Sophomore Novel.

This is the type of post where I can’t make it to ten. Only seven this time. A lot of authors have had enchanting debuts…and then a lot of other books that I love, too! Coming up with ten authors who have only had one book so far was difficult for me.

(This is also the type of post where I make it painfully clear that I don’t know how to add accent marks to the font in WordPress. Some of these women do, more properly, have accent marks in their names. Someone help me internet.)

 

158190281 Helene Wecker- The Golem and the Jinni

An absolutely enchanting tale of supernatural, turn-of-the-century New York City. I’ve been impatiently waiting for a new book from her pretty much since I read the last sentence.

2 Carol Rifka Brunt- Tell the Wolves I’m Home

A strong contender for the best book I’ve read this year. Just go read it; you can thank me later.

3 Cecilia Eckback- Wolf Winter

This is an atmospheric, very creepy novel about a place in history I knew almost nothing about–Swedish Lapland in the early eighteenth century. The characters were very well drawn and the writing in general was fantastic.

4 Erin Lindsay McCabe- I Shall Be Near to You

This Civil War novel almost wrecked me, which was all the more poignant because I didn’t expect it to. I’m curious to see what McCabe will get up to next; whether she’ll stick with the era and become a sort of Jennifer Chiaverini, or whether she’ll tackle a new time period.

5 Suzanne Rindell- The Other Typist

This roaring twenties thriller made a big impression on me a few years back.

6 Tea Obrhet- The Tiger’s Wife

I’m not sure what happened to Obrhet. A few years ago, she was the buzzy author everyone was talking about and I’d have expected her to have a follow-up by now. Whatever it will be and whenever it will end up appearing, I’ll be excited to read it.

7 Paula Hawkins- The Girl on the Train

This is undoubtedly the debut of 2015. It has been tremendously popular and, at least as far as I was concerned in library-land, came out of nowhere. I wasn’t completely blown away by it, but I did think Hawkins made some interesting choices and it was an interesting read. Whatever she does next is sure to get a lot of attention.

 

Who are you waiting to see a sophomore effort from?

 

8 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Gimme More

  1. Hi! I love that Helene Wicker cover! And a roaring twenties thriller sounds fun, too!
    My TTT
    Leslie

  2. Ooh, I have Wolf Winter on my Kindle! Glad to hear it’s good!

  3. Carol Rifka Brunt! I read her book ages ago but I clearly remember absolutely loving it. I need she needs more hype and attention, not many people actually know the book.

  4. I included Brunt and Wecker on my list. Those were such fantastic books. I haven’t heard of most of your other choices.

    • hlmorris85

      I think they’re all a couple years old. Well worth checking out, though. (I think maybe the closest to Brunt and Wecker in style/writing quality is Wolf Winter or The Tiger’s Wife.)

Leave a Reply

