Would You Rather?

I’ve been seeing this meme kicking around, so I thought I’d give it a shot.

*Would you rather only read trilogies or only read standalones?*

Standalones. For one because there’s no law against how long a standalone can be, for two because the story beats that make up a trilogy can get old after a while.

*Would you rather only read male or female authors?*

It’s actually a goal of mine in 2016 to only read female authors. Many men are among my favorites (David Mitchell, Jo Nesbo, Haruki Murakami), but I kind of need a break from the male POV right now.

*Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?*

Barnes and Noble. As I’ve mentioned before, Amazon makes me feel icky. B&N isn’t the greatest, either, but I’ve worked for them and I kind of have a soft spot for them, too. I currently have to drive an hour to get to one, though, so not really feasible…

Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?

Depends on the book, which is totally a cop-out but is also really true.

*Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?*

5 books per week duh. Can whatever magic that makes that possible also clean my house and cook my meals and give me a paycheck and go to the gym for me?

*Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?*

Author. Hands down.

I’m growing as a writer. I’m worlds away from where I was ten years ago, when I was so sure I was going to be the next wunderkind author without actually having produced any work to back that up. And I’m managing to sell a few stories a year, which for now results in a little thrill each time I sign a contract, swiftly followed by a you’re kidding me, right?, and feelings of insecurity and nausea the minute something comes out.

So I have a loooooooooong way to go. I may never get there. But at this point I am trying to look at it as a personal journey and not focus so much on external validation. If I have something to say, and can find the right way to say it, maybe one day I’ll hold a book with my name on the cover in my hands.

*Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?*

So I’m in a bit of an odd position with this one. Because I have been both a bookseller and a librarian, but I was never a “real” bookseller, and I’m not actually a “real” librarian, either.

When I worked in a bookstore my official title was bookseller, but I actually worked in a building across the way that sold college apparel and souvenirs. (That was kind of crummy, but at least I got my discount!) And now I’ve worked in libraries for a few years, both academic and public, but I don’t actually have a library science degree, and I work in collection development, which is kind of hidden away from the rest of the library.

So I don’t know! They both have benefits and drawbacks. Probably a librarian, I guess, because as anyone who has worked retail knows, it sucks. Even if every single customer loved books and wanted to buy on my recommendation, I’d probably end up losing little pieces of my soul every day.

*Would you rather only read your favorite genre, or every other genre but your favorite?*

I am totally prepared to cheat with this and say I don’t have a favorite genre. Because I really don’t. I have moods that certain books fit. I certainly grew up with a specific genre (fantasy), and only gradually learned to branch out, but I read pretty evenly across a range of styles now. So cutting one out would be kind of impossible and pointless.

*Would you rather only read ebooks or physical books?*

ebooks. There are still a lot of design errors slipping through, and to my mind they are still far too expensive, but it all comes down to the fact that I could read basically an infinite number of books on one small device. If all the physical books in the world disappeared tomorrow I’d be really, really sad, but if I had ebooks I’d eventually get over it.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

2 responses to “Would You Rather?

  1. I totally prefer standalones as well. Also it’s so cool that you’ve worked in a library! Must’ve been fun to be surrounded by books all the time 😁

    • hlmorris85

      The best thing about being in a public library is no late fees. And seeing everything the moment it comes in–but that can be a curse, because it just makes my tbr pile bigger.

Leave a Reply

