Top Ten Tuesday: New To Me

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten New-To-Me Favorite Authors I Read For The First Time In 2015

This year was weird. Most of my new-to-me authors I didn’t like very much. There were a few standouts, but mostly I found myself sticking with old favorites, because new-to-me authors left me cold. That said, there were some standouts.

(in effort to keep these lists somewhat different, I’m not including any debut novelists here. At least as far as I know. First timers get plenty of their own lists!)

1.  Holly Black

I still have not gotten around to reading more Holly Black and I don’t know why but it needs to be remedied asap.

2. Elizabeth Wein

Ahhhhh, tear out my heart and stomp on it and then send those pieces through the shredder and then light them on fire. And I will love every second of it.

3. Max Gladstone

I read three books by Gladstone this year. His worldbuilding is so cool and I look forward to reading the rest of his Craft Sequence series soon. (But not in 2016, alas. Because 2016 is my year of no dudes.)

4. Jo Graham

I was a bit surprised how much I enjoyed her debut, Black Ships. The writing was just so unusual and unexpected. I have a couple more of hers waiting on my ereader that I will hopefully get to in December or January.

5. Emily St. John Mandel

I haven’t checked out any of Mandel’s other stuff yet, and honestly I’m not even sure it appeals to me, but I did really enjoy Station Eleven.

6. Robert Jackson Bennett

City of Stairs was really, really, really, really good ya’ll.

7. Amy Jo Cousins

I don’t usually make a habit of talking about my taste in erotica cause really, no one wants to know that stuff. But holy schmaow what I’ve read by her so far (Off Campus and a couple of free novella things) is so good. And the characters act like adults and talk out their problems which I particularly appreciate in a genre that tends to manufacture tension simply because dumb people don’t use their words.

8. K.J. Charles

I’ve been hearing about The Magpie Lord for what feels like forever, but I kept putting it off and now I don’t know why. I flew through that book over Thanksgiving vacation, and it was so much fun. It reminded me a bit of a combination of Lynn Flewelling’s Nightrunner series and Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell. And there are sequels and I waaaaaaaaaaant them.

So that’s all I’ve got. Who did you read for the first time this year that you came to love?

 

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

7 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: New To Me

  1. I haven’t read any of these authors yet – will have to check them out! My TTT

  2. I can’t say as I recall reading any of the authors on your Top Ten Tuesday post this week, so I have some new to me authors to check out for sure.

    Here’s a link to my TTT post for the week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2015/12/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-new-to-me.html

  3. We have Holly Black and Max Gladstone in common – I am super happy as well to have finally met them:). Which Holly Black did you read?

  4. I loved Mandel’s Station Eleven and the two books I’ve read by Wein. Some of my favorite newbies this year were Belinda Bauer, Celeste Ng, and Amy Stewart.

Leave a Reply

