Top Ten Tuesday: Best of 2015

toptentuesday

The topic of this Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is Best Books I Read In 2015.

This year I’ve decided to go month by month. Because what’s the point of all the random listmaking I do if I don’t get to play around with the stats? So, flagrantly disregarding the ‘ten’ thing, because I read way too much to narrow this down.

The best book I read in January was:

12813630

67700

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black, The Persian Boy by Mary Renault.

The best book I read in February was:

12851538

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein.

The best book I read in March was:

18518285

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Girls From Corona del Mar by Rufi Thorpe

The best book I read in April was:

22500961

22294061

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Man Who Touched His Own Heart by Rob Dunn, Romantic Outlaws by Charlotte Gordon

(a nonfiction double feature!)

The best book I read in May was:

20312462

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jackaby by William Ritter

The best book I read in June was:

17262236

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein.

The best book I read in July was:

11459222

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thief of Shadows by Elizabeth Hoyt

(Cause WINTER. Ah, this is my favorite Maiden Lane book by leaps and bounds. I still have a few to get through, but I think it will stay on top.)

The best book I read in August was:

11738128 12875258

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Week to Be Wicked by Tessa Dare, Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt

The best book I read in September was:

21413846

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wolf Winter by Cecilia Ekback

The best book I read in October was:

2373462819547856

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell, Simon. vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

The best book I read in November was:

20174424

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett

The best book I read in December (so far? I think I still have one or two books left in me, as I’m home all alone for Christmas) was:

18142329

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Police by Jo Nesbo

I think the biggest surprise in this is how much YA is on this list. I didn’t realize I was reading so much YA, much less how much I have been enjoying it. But the YA books I did read were good. Good enough to edge out a ton of other great books.

What made your best list?

 

11 Comments

Filed under Book Talk

11 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Best of 2015

  1. I really want to read a Jo Nesbo, just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

    • hlmorris85

      Don’t start with Police, that’s for sure. It’s book ten and very dependent on things that come before it. The Harry Hole series doesn’t necessarily need to be read in order (and if I had started with the first one I probably wouldn’t have kept reading them, honestly) but I would recommend starting somewhere early like The Redbreast or Nemesis.

  2. Jackaby has such a beautiful cover! And I loved Tell the Wolves I’m Home, I didn’t read it this year but I still really love it and would put it on my list if I could 😭

    • hlmorris85

      That cover is goooooooorgeous and the entire totally shallow reason I picked the book up. It was luckily a fun book, read like a cross between Eleventh-era Doctor Who and Sherlock.

  3. I loved Tell the Wolves I’m Home and the two books by Wein. I’m curious about the romances, I feel like I can never find a good romance novel.

    • hlmorris85

      I’ve only been reading romance for a few years, and it’s kind of trial and error honestly but once I find an author I like it kind of branches out into new authors. There’s so many different subgenres and types of romances out there that for me it’s all about figuring out what tropes I enjoy and then finding books that fit those tropes. For instance, I tend to like historicals rather than contemporaries because of the scenery, the “props”. And I was surprised to learn that a lot of authors these days–like Tessa Dare and Courtney Milan and Elizabeth Hoyt–use those settings for some pretty feminist stuff. The particular books I chose for this list happened to hit all of my trope buttons and while I do recommend them for anyone who is interested in romance, I feel like it should come with a caveat that your mileage may vary, since I enjoyed them for particular reasons.

      Which is all a very long way of saying that if you are looking for recommendations I’m totally game to throw a bunch at you, but they’ll probably all be of the somewhat narrow Regency/Georgian/Victorian historical variety.

  4. Great list! Jackaby’s sequel made my list. 🙂

    Check out my TTT and my current giveaway.

  5. Pingback: 2015 End Of Year Book Survey | The Bastard Title

Leave a Reply

