2015 Mix Tape

Getting off the subject of books for a moment, I thought I’d post about my favorite music of 2015.

I spent a lot of the year going back to things I missed in to 2004-2009 era for some reason. When it comes to albums that actually came out in 2015, my most played were probably (definitely) Lana Del Rey’s Honeymoon and Florence + the Machine’s How Big How Blue How Beautiful. And I recently discovered Marina and the Diamonds (I don’t usually listen to so many ladies! 2015 has been a change of pace.) But mostly I listen to singles and random songs because that’s just the way I roll.

So, in no particular order, here are some of my favorite songs of 2015:

Lana Del Rey- “Music to Watch Boys To”

the whole album is amaaaaazing, but I think this is absolutely my favorite song.

Deerhunter- “Snakeskin”

So funky.

Death Cab For Cutie- “The Ghosts of Beverly Drive”

I’m a pretty casual fan of Death Cab, but I really love this song. For some reason it reminds me of my dad.

The Decemberists- “A Beginning Song”

I am waiting, should I be waiting?

Night Terrors of 1927 ft. Tegan and Sara-“When You Were Mine”

These guys put out a fantastic debut (and I’m not just saying that because I’m eternally in love with Blake Sennett). I’m a bit surprised it hasn’t hit bigger than it did.

Disclosure ft. Lorde- “Magnets”

I mean, like I’m not going to love anything to do with Lorde. You crazy?

Beirut- “Gibraltar” 

That little clap beat thing. Yeah. All about that.

Belle and Sebastian- “The Party Line”

Surprisingly good song for the gym. (I guess my gym playlist is kind of weird.)

Florence + the Machine- “Third Eye”

I could have picked like 5 Florence + the Machine songs for this spot. Love her, always. But Third Eye hit me in a really hard, personal way.

Marina and the Diamonds- “Froot”

La la la la la la.

Of Monsters and Men- “Organs”

Of Monsters and Men sounds to me what my depression feels like. Which sounds like a weird sort of endorsement, but it totally is. They have just the most beautiful, vulnerable music.

Also they sound like fantasy novels.

Brick + Mortar- “Train”

So I finally got a new car with a working radio, and I literally know nothing about this band but this song is on all the time. This is the first time I’ve looked up the video; it’s super cute.

Declan McKenna- “Brazil”

Same with this kid, honestly. Radio, all the damn time. I had no idea he was so young until I looked for the video. But he seems like a promising songwriter. And good to see that my inner 13-year-old will always love floppy-haired boys, I guess.

Coast Modern- “Hollow Life”

This has been on repeat for a while in my apartment and at work. If their debut is this good, I can’t wait to hear what else this band has in store.

And. Ok. I have to do one Hamilton song. Forgive me?

It’s impossible to pick a favorite, but the Burr songs are the best and give me complicated feelings about our third Vice President. So. Wait For It.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

